Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

New Zealand: One second in the life of the surf at Mount Maunganui

with 14 comments

Thanks to my camera’s burst mode, these four consecutive frames cover approximately one second in the breaking of a wave on the coastal rocks at Mount Maunganui on February 25th.

Surf Crashing on Rocks 7703

Surf Crashing on Rocks 7704

Surf Crashing on Rocks 7705

Surf Crashing on Rocks 7706

© 2015 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

June 17, 2015 at 5:14 AM

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Absolutely stunning shots, Steve. Lovely!!

  2. GORGEOUS!

    Rana Sanders

    June 17, 2015 at 8:31 AM

  3. I haven’t been to Maine’s coast in two years now, so I miss the ocean and the breaking surf on the rocky shore. Nice burst capture. It’s the only way to go for these. Timing them works but takes a lot of tries.

    Steve Gingold

    June 17, 2015 at 5:53 PM

    • Sounds like you’re overdue for a trip to the Maine coast. I was at the Gulf of Mexico a few weeks ago, but it’s nowhere near as scenic as the coasts of New Zealand and Maine, and not at all rocky.

      I took a bunch of burst sequences at Mount Maunganui because the process is so hit-and-miss.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 17, 2015 at 8:16 PM

  4. I know I shouldn’t have laughed, but the irony of you posting water photos today is just too much. I think I remember you saying that your home’s high enough not to be in danger, but I do hope all of your friends and etc. are faring well. It sounds like it’s still a mess over there.

    The water is beautiful. It’s been a long time since I’ve seen such clear, pure spume. And what a great idea, to post the series. Each photo has a little something different to commend it. They could stand alone, but they’re especially nice together.

    shoreacres

    June 17, 2015 at 5:54 PM

    • As far as I’ve heard, there hasn’t been any new flooding in Austin, even after a few inches of rain in some locations.

      Having rocks and real waves breaking on them was one of the delights of the New Zealand coast. I reveled in that and took many miniseries in bursts, of which this was just one. I don’t believe I’ve ever posted a rapid-fire series before.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 17, 2015 at 10:41 PM

  5. You’ve got me with anything involving waves and rocks, Steve! I’ve spent many, many hours just staring at these sorts of scenes in my youth. I find waves so hypnotic. Even when the surf is rough there is a sense of calm that befalls me when I sit and watch the waves pounding the sand and rocks. Mind you, I am sitting safely on the shore, not out there in a boat! I enjoyed these consecutive frames of images that we can’t separate and hold onto when we witness the overall event in person. Thank you.

    Jane

    June 18, 2015 at 1:35 AM

    • You’re welcome for the rapid-fire split-second waves. You’ve put it well in saying that normally we can’t hold on to them, but technology comes to the aid of our senses.

      I wish I lived closer to waves and rocks so I could spend the kind of time you recall spending in your youth. I grew up about half an hour from the Atlantic Ocean, so we had waves, but the south shore of Long Island (New York) hasn’t any cliffs or rocks. New Zealand is quite different in that respect.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 18, 2015 at 8:21 AM


Leave a Reply

