Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

A new wildflower cemetery

with 22 comments

 

After our April 5th visit to scenic and flowerful Inks Lake State Park we drove about half an hour northwest. The destination was Flat Rock Cemetery on TX 261 in Llano County, which I’d learned online currently had wildflowers on it. When I parked outside the cemetery it didn’t initially seem like much, but once I got closer and entered I found it was indeed covered with wildflowers. Most conspicuous because taller than the rest and forming yellow-green clumps was peppergrass (Lepidium sp.), which I believe I’d noticed in a cemetery just once before, and then only sparsely. As Know What Your Ancestors Knew reports:

 

North America has over 100 different species of Lepidium and Texas has 23. They are all very similar in appearance and edibility. The seeds have a spicy/peppery taste similar to radishes. I usually just bite the young, green seed-stalks off the plant. The young leaves also have the horse-radishy taste but by the time the seeds appear the leaves have become too power-tasting for most people to eat. The young, tender seed pods also add a bit of a kick to salads.

 

 

The cemetery was home to lots of Texas dandelions, all still in the budding stage; you can discern a little group of them standing in front of the tombstone in the second picture. The bluebonnets (Lupinus texensis) were past their prime as flowers and had already produced seed pods. A few Indian paintbrushes (Castilleja indivisa) remained fresh. And filling in the otherwise mostly bare ground by the thousands were small white daisies, presumably lazy daisies (Aphanostephus skirrhobasis).

 

  

  

© 2024 Steven Schwartzman

 

 

 

 

 

 

Written by Steve Schwartzman

April 24, 2024 at 4:02 AM

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s very pretty! I applaud that first person who was brave enough to try that plant and all the plants and things we eat safely.

    circadianreflections

    April 24, 2024 at 9:30 AM

    • I’ve sometimes thought about the way that somebody had to try each kind of plant that we now eat. Inevitably that also meant trying plants that turned out to be harmful or even fatal to people.

      In the case of Lepidium, I nibble a bit out in the field because I like the tangy taste. I’m not aware that anyone has cultivated a Lepidium species to use as a seasoning. There may be an opportunity for a culinary entrepreneur.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 24, 2024 at 11:34 AM

  2. What a nice discovery. I’m sure you are glad to have visited this new-to-you cemetery AND not to have dismissed it after your first impression.

    I wonder if you have ever tried peppergrass yourself. Maybe you could have bitten off the seed-stalks like the person quoted on the linked website.

    tanjabrittonwriter

    April 24, 2024 at 9:09 PM

    • We’ve checked several new-to-us cemeteries in the past few weeks, including one as recently as yesterday. While most have had few or no wildflowers, this one made up for those.

      Yes, I often nibble a bit of peppergrass for the pleasant and tangy taste the seeds provide (Lepidium is in the same botanical family as mustard, radishes, and horseradish). If I were more industrious I might harvest and dry a bunch of peppergrass to experiment with using it as a seasoning.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 24, 2024 at 9:26 PM

      • I hope more pleasant discoveries await you.

        It might make sense to try to plant some peppergrass at home, that way it would be available to use as a seasoning.

        tanjabrittonwriter

        April 24, 2024 at 9:33 PM

        • It would make sense, especially if I knew anything about gardening, which I confess I don’t.

          Steve Schwartzman

          April 24, 2024 at 9:41 PM

  3. Nice discovery! I wish I could try the peppergrass.

    Alessandra Chaves

    April 24, 2024 at 9:45 PM

  4. […] the way back south from Flat Rock Cemetery in Llano County along TX 261 on April 5th, we stopped by a highway bridge over an inlet to Lake […]

  5. The peppergrass also shows up in the Galveston and Rockport cemeteries: not as densely as you’ve shown here, but it’s usually present. I didn’t realize it’s edible. The next time I find some, I’ll give it a try.

    Your first two photos reminded me of the ‘cemetery’ I found in Goliad County. There were only a few stones at an intersection, and a few chickens roaming through them. That’s when I learned that ‘cemetery’ is pretty loosely defined here: the Texas legal code defines a cemetery as “A place that is used or intended to be used for interment, and includes a graveyard, burial park, unknown cemetery, abandoned cemetery, mausoleum, or any other area containing one or more graves or unidentified graves.”

    The stones I found weren’t accompanied by such pretty flowers, but the sense of a serendipitous appearance seems similar.

    shoreacres

    April 25, 2024 at 7:07 AM

    • That’s an interesting—and as you said, pretty loose—legal definition. Speaking of which, it occurred to me that interment could be defined as a kind of perpetual internment.

      And speaking of Rockport, a couple of Facebook posts in the past week showed good wildflowers there, most noticeably coreopsis. Of course you can get plenty of those in the Galveston cemetery that you also mentioned. During our photo foray there I don’t remember noticing any peppergrass. Maybe I was too busy photographing all the coreopsis to notice.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 25, 2024 at 7:22 AM

  6. The lazy daisies seemed very busy covering the bare ground so I wondered why they are known as lazy. One source said that these daisies are called lazy because they make little effort to rise above the ground. Whether or not that is true I don’t know but I found the explanation amusing. I think that in a place of rest it is quite appropriate to have lazy flowers.

    Gallivanta

    April 27, 2024 at 1:23 AM

    • As you pointed out, the white daisies were anything but lazy in their dense colonization of ground that didn’t suit other species. You’re amusing about “lazy” flowers being appropriate in a place of rest. And those who needed a good night’s rest were the two explorers who’d spent so many hours on the wildflower quest.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 27, 2024 at 6:56 AM

      • I am sure you slept well with visions of wildflowers, rather than sugar plums, in your head.

        Gallivanta

        April 27, 2024 at 11:51 PM

        • Now that you mention it, I don’t recall ever dreaming about wildflowers. Of course I may have without remembering it.

          Steve Schwartzman

          April 28, 2024 at 6:25 AM

  7. I can never get enough of wildflowers ..

    Julie@frogpondfarm

    April 28, 2024 at 2:31 PM

  8. This is exactly how cemeteries should be! 🙂

    Ann Mackay

    April 30, 2024 at 9:33 AM


Leave a comment