Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Inks Lake State Park in the spring

with 20 comments

 

In recent years I’ve kept exploring more and more parts of Inks Lake State Park, which has become a favorite of mine for its combination of geology and botany. On April 5th all my time went to the Pecan Flats Trail, which a ranger had recommended as the best place for wildflowers at the moment. I pushed farther along that trail than I had last year, and as I went, first one person coming my way and later another told me—presumably because they saw that I was carrying a camera—how to get to a great colony of bluebonnets (Lupinus texensis) still ahead of me. Eventually the path took me up a slope, from whose higher vantage point I was greeted with the sight you see above, which included a colony of spiderworts (Tradescantia sp.) at the left and a “lake” of bluebonnets in the distance. I continued and worked my way down close to the “lake.” Lichen-covered boulders were part of the appeal not only in that spot but throughout the park.

 

 

In many places dead trees figured prominently and added to the mix. The yellow flowers below were brown bitterweed (Helenium amarum var. badium).

 

   

And sometimes a dead tree became a subject in its own right, or at least co-starred with the clouds.

 

 

 

 

§

§      §      §

§

 

 

A low-profile case decided Wednesday by the Supreme Court could have big implications for employers’ diversity, equity, and inclusion programs.

Muldrow v. City of St. Louis was a case about a female police officer who alleged that she was transferred from one department to another because of her sex. She argued that the transfer violated Title VII of the Civil Rights Act, which forbids “race, color, religion, sex, or national origin” discrimination with respect to employment “compensation, terms, conditions, or privileges.”

She lost in the lower court because she could not show that the transfer caused her “significant” harm. The lower court held that the transfer “did not result in a diminution to her title, salary, or benefits” and caused “only minor changes in [her] working conditions.”

A unanimous Supreme Court reversed, holding that any harm—whether significant or insignificant—satisfies Title VII.

 

So begins an April 17th article by GianCarlo Canaparo in The Daily Signal titled “High Court’s 9-0 Ruling Lowers Bar for Filing Anti-DEI Discrimination Lawsuits.” You’re welcome to read the rest of the article. Following this decision, victims of the practically ubiquitous DEI (discrimination, exclusion, injustice) programs in government, education, and corporations may more likely be able to bring and win lawsuits against the enforcers of what has quickly become a secular religion carrying out the edicts of a punitive triune god.
 

 

© 2024 Steven Schwartzman

 

 

 

 

 

 

Written by Steve Schwartzman

April 20, 2024 at 4:09 AM

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Why would anyone with a hint of sanity employ such people these days?

    Jonathan Lister

    April 20, 2024 at 4:26 AM

  2. Thank you, Steve, for such a beautiful place in your photos!

    Joanna

    gabychops

    April 20, 2024 at 4:46 AM

  3. One of my readers has been going to Inks Lake for several years, camping there with her family. She sings its praises often, but never has made it seem interesting enough to check out. Your photos certainly did the trick. The mixture of rocks, dead trees, and lovely flowers reminds me of the Willow City loop and surrounding areas. Once I looked up Inks Lake on the map, I can see why — they’re in the roughly the same neighborhood.

    As for the constellation of issues surrounding DEI, I heard a commercial on AM radio this week that made me laugh. Apparently more people are paying attention to the issues than we might suspect. I can’t find the commercial again, but the opening line was close to this: “If the first question your carpet cleaning company asks is which pronouns you prefer, you’ve hired the wrong company.”

    shoreacres

    April 20, 2024 at 8:00 AM

    • I’ve been discovering Inks Lake State Park in drips and drabs. Only last year did I finally walk part of the Pecan Flats Trail, and just a few years before that I first made it to the Devil’s Waterhole and on to Valley Spring Creek Waterfall. I’ve been showing attractions from Inks Lake State Park for years, but as the posts have been spread out, it’s understandable you didn’t get the cumulative effect of how enticing the place is. If today’s post did the trick, so much the better. You can also take a quick scroll back through old posts tagged Inks Lakes State Park. I just did that and I noticed some attractive pictures from May of the respective years, so it’s by no means too late in 2024 for you to head out there if you’ve a mind to. Most of the bluebonnets will have faded by now, but other wildflowers will have arisen. And of course the lichen-covered boulders are always there.

      I searched for the AM radio commercial you heard but also couldn’t find it. I did, however, find a great related video ad.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 20, 2024 at 8:40 AM

    • By the way, I have another Inks Lake State Park post scheduled this coming week, plus one showing wildflower colonies on adjacent roadsides.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 20, 2024 at 8:54 AM

      • I’ve been putting in ten hour days at work for a while now, and will be doing so until May 1, which is the hard deadline for completing two jobs prior to the local vintage car and boat show. But, with that work done and those paychecks in the bank, I’d planned to take at least a week off — maybe Inks Lake would be a nice destination.

        shoreacres

        April 20, 2024 at 8:57 AM

        • May Day will be here before we know it. Happy anticipated vacation, wherever you decide to go.

          Steve Schwartzman

          April 20, 2024 at 6:20 PM

  4. You visited Inks Lake and found a bluebonnet lake.

    The combination of wildflowers, trees, rocks and skyscapes is the illustrated definition of why we do what we do. Outstanding photographs.

    Your trips continue to pull at the threads of our memories. Camping at Inks Lake State Park was a treat. For some reason, I remember nights gazing at the star-filled sky. Good times.

    Wally Jones

    April 20, 2024 at 9:09 AM

    • Sorry about the late reply: I just discovered that WordPress sent your comment to the spam folder. In all the years I’ve been posting here, you’re the first commenter I’m aware of who’s been to (and can’t fail to appreciate) Inks Lake State Park. Unlike you, I’ve never camped in the park, but have only made day trips, and as a result have never seen stars there. Even so, I’ve found many daytime things that have starred in my pictures.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 26, 2024 at 4:27 AM

  5. […] April 5th we drove an hour west to Inks Lake State Park. Even before we’d quite arrived, at the intersection of TX 29 and Park Road 4 the dense […]

  6. Beautiful rugged landscape, I’m glad you kept going to meet the bluebonnets lake. I too am fond of dead trees, which abound here as a result of last decades’ wildfires.

    Alessandra Chaves

    April 24, 2024 at 9:43 PM

    • Yes, it’s quite a photogenic area. Almost all the land in that region is private, so it’s great to have a good-sized state park where I can wander freely, which I’ve done repeatedly in both spring and fall. Where your dead trees often came from wildfires, I assume many of the ones at Inks Lake State Park were due to the prolonged deep freezes we had in 2021 and 2023.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 24, 2024 at 9:50 PM

  7. […] our April 5th visit to scenic and flowerful Inks Lake State Park we drove about half an hour northwest. The destination was Flat Rock Cemetery on TX 261 in Llano […]

  8. What a great find … so picturesque

    Julie@frogpondfarm

    April 25, 2024 at 2:45 PM

    • We’re fortunate to have this park just an hour from home. In recent years I’ve visited every spring and every autumn.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 25, 2024 at 4:04 PM


Leave a comment