Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Return to the Merrilltown Cemetery

with 12 comments

 

Having stopped at the old Merrilltown Cemetery on March 19 to photograph wildflowers and tombstones, I returned 11 days later. The expanse of wild garlic flowers (Allium drummondii) seemed even lusher than on my previous visit. In particular, I’d gone back to see if the rain lily (Zephyranthes drummondii) leaves I’d noticed the first time had been followed by flowers. Though not nearly as many had come up as I’d wished, enough had for me to make portraits of some buds and flowers.

 

 

As I was finishing up my photographic business, several men with weed whackers walked in from an adjacent property and began to go about their different sort of business. My hope was that they’d clear a few paths and leave most of the wildflowers alone. Ah, of course I should have known better: when I drove past the cemetery a few days later I couldn’t see a single wildflower.

 

 

 

 

❦     ❦     ❦

 

   

My commentary three days ago described how Uri Berliner, a “progressive” who has worked at NPR (National Public Radio) for more than two decades, wrote an article criticizing how politically one-sided the organization, which gets part of its funding from American taxpayers, has become. For example, he described how,

… Concerned by the lack of viewpoint diversity, I looked at voter registration for our newsroom. In D.C., where NPR is headquartered and many of us live, I found 87 registered Democrats working in editorial positions and zero Republicans. None. 

So on May 3, 2021, I presented the findings at an all-hands editorial staff meeting. When I suggested we had a diversity problem with a score of 87 Democrats and zero Republicans, the response wasn’t hostile. It was worse. It was met with profound indifference. I got a few messages from surprised, curious colleagues. But the messages were of the “oh wow, that’s weird” variety, as if the lopsided tally was a random anomaly rather than a critical failure of our diversity North Star. 

 

Well, yesterday “diversity” won out: NPR suspended Uri Berliner for five days.

 

© 2024 Steven Schwartzman

 

 

 

Written by Steve Schwartzman

April 17, 2024 at 4:10 AM

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I had an immediate, one-word response to your first photo: “Namaste.”

    I’m glad you found at least a few of the lilies. When I found a field filled with them, very early, misty morning light and the fence factor prevented satisfying images of them, but I’ll still be showing one or two of the field, along with some individuals.

    shoreacres

    April 17, 2024 at 5:29 AM

    • Along the lines of your “Namaste,” my imagination insists on seeing the picture of the bud as a monk or nun with hands upraised in prayer. And speaking of rain lilies and your intention to show one or two pictures of that field, my mind put a few of your words together and came up with familiar phrase “the lilies of the field,” even if botanists assure us that rain lilies are actually in the amaryllis family. (I initially mistyped botanist, which led me to the observation that I know so little about plants that I could accurately be called a notanist rather than a botanist.)

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 17, 2024 at 6:50 AM

  2. Thank you for sharing – preserving – these magnificent buds! Such a needless shame that all the wildflowers were mowed down.😔

    Birder's Journey

    April 17, 2024 at 6:15 AM

    • No sooner did I get interested in our native wildflowers in 1999 than experience taught me that mowers are a common threat to them. Most mowers mow on a tight schedule, but wildflowers aren’t so tightly bound to a calendar.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 17, 2024 at 6:58 AM

  3. By comparison, your carpet of wildflowers makes my picture of violets look like a tiny doormat, which I am going to publish later this morning.

    Peter Klopp

    April 17, 2024 at 9:33 AM

  4. The red bud had me thinking of captioning it, “Praying Hands”, Linda’s Namaste works too. It’s a beautiful portrait of it and so is the last one. These are print worthy en mon avis.

    circadianreflections

    April 17, 2024 at 10:40 AM

    • As soon as I looked at the image of the bud on my computer monitor I thought about praying hands, too. I can’t remember if I’d had that impression when I was out in the field taking the picture. Rain lilies, both buds and flowers, are highly photogenic, and I keep photographing them year after year.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 17, 2024 at 12:00 PM

    • Your French phrase reminds me that over the years I’ve occasionally rented a car from Avis.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 17, 2024 at 12:02 PM


Leave a comment