Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Prairie View Cemetery

with 13 comments

 

On April 13th, after leaving the site along US 183 in Williamson County that provided the last two pictures in yesterday’s post, we continued north, soon crossing into Burnet County and stopping at Prairie View Cemetery in the little town of Briggs. While we’d visited the cemetery a year or two earlier, I found it covered with even better wildflowers this spring. Aware of the photogenic clouds overhead, and noticing that they were moving rather quickly, I hurried to find a vantage point from which I could include them along with some wildflowers. I soon found myself lying on the ground for the top picture. The red-orange flowers are prairie paintbrushes (Castilleja purpurea var. lindheimeri), and the yellow ones are Engelmann daisies (Engelmannia peristenia).

 

  

As it was a cemetery, I appropriately carried out my work with ceremony.
Look how the Engelmann daisies and the old plainsman (Hymenopappus scabiosaeus) blew.

 

 

The pre-wildflower-era photographer sometimes asserted himself.

 

 

 

§

§      §      §

§

 

 

My country is killing itself. One of the ways it’s doing so is by letting its government impose policies that will leave the nation without sufficient energy. The electric grid is already straining to meet current needs, and it will soon be incapable of meeting rapidly increasing demands. You can read about that aspect of our nation’s assisted suicide in an April 26th editorial in the Wall Street Journal.

 

 

© 2024 Steven Schwartzman

 

 

 

 

 

 

Written by Steve Schwartzman

April 29, 2024 at 4:11 AM

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lovely shots at the cemetery! I like the first picture best. You lay on the ground to capture the fantastic cloud formation as background for the wildflowers. Whether by accident or design, the flowers appear as if they are growing on a hillside.

    Peter Klopp

    April 29, 2024 at 4:44 PM

    • Thanks. The flowers weren’t really growing on a hillside, but that impression comes from my having lain on the ground and aimed somewhat upward so that the flowers would block unwanted things farther away (and of course also so that I could include the great clouds).

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 29, 2024 at 7:06 PM

  2. […] I’d explored the wildflower-strewn Prairie View Cemetery in Briggs for a good while on April 13th we continued north on US 183 to Lampasas, where I kept […]

  3. I’m intrigued by the stone in the second photo. It seems rather unusual. I’ve seen some polished granite markers, but that one suggests the color of granite in a softer stone; the damage on one side adds to that impression. In any event, it combines nicely with its surroundings.

    I like the smooth curve of the clouds above the flowers in the first photo, and the tiny bit of photo-bombing purple in the corner.

    shoreacres

    April 30, 2024 at 7:16 AM

    • Leave it to you to notice the photo-bombing by a spiderwort. I remember thinking about identifying it in the text but I apparently forgot to follow up. I see that I also didn’t identify the bluebonnets in the second picture.

      The tombstone intrigued me for two reasons: the color, and the large writing relative to the size of the stone.

      As you’ll have seen by now, the clouds put on quite a show that day. I took advantage of them in many pictures, both as backgrounds and subjects in their own right.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 30, 2024 at 7:30 AM

  4. Oh, the paintbrush that I got last year is doing nothing. I do not remember the species, or if I got a nearly local species or a Midwestern species. I might have gotten one that is native to Oklahoma.

    tonytomeo

    May 1, 2024 at 1:41 AM

    • There’s a zillion paintbrush species. The one shown here is much less common than the practically ubiquitous Castilleja indivisa. I think I’ve found prairie paintbrush in Austin only once; normally I have to go a ways out of town to find it. You might be able to plant a species from your own area that’s more likely to thrive there than an import from elsewhere.

      Steve Schwartzman

      May 1, 2024 at 6:44 AM

      • The few species that are native here or near here are not as colorful as those farther east. Supposedly, some live somewhat nearby, but I never noticed them. I suppose that, if I am determined to grow some sort of paintbrush, I should just grow a native species and keep it groomed of other competing vegetation (if such species is not so reliant on other vegetation). Apparently, some species are rather discriminating about where they grow, and what other species they cohabitate with. That may be why those that I tried to grow seemingly did nothing.

        tonytomeo

        May 1, 2024 at 9:46 AM

  5. Love the curving sweep of clouds above the line of yellow daisies and then the more curved shape of the paintbrushes below in your top picture. Nice composition!

    Ann Mackay

    May 5, 2024 at 5:11 AM


Leave a comment