Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Male cardinal

with 14 comments

Male Cardinal in Tree 6420

Here’s a rather soft and impressiony picture of a male cardinal on February 2, 2009, along Bull Creek in my northwestern part of Austin.

As is often the case with birds, the male is much more colorful than the female, as you can confirm in a photograph from 2013.

——–

I’m away from home. You’re welcome to leave comments, but please understand if I’m slow in responding.

© 2015 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

February 24, 2015 at 5:26 AM

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wonderful shot, Steven. Cardinals, especially the males, never fail to lift my spirits and, in fact, I posted a photo of one within minutes of your posting.

    Mike Powell

    February 24, 2015 at 5:32 AM

    • That’s a cardinal coincidence, Mike, a case of (photographic) birds of a feather flocking together.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 24, 2015 at 12:23 PM

  2. Enjoy winging your way home.

    Gallivanta

    February 24, 2015 at 7:05 AM

    • Yes, just two (and a fraction) days left till the long flight home to the land of Valhalla (and more germanely Austin). Today’s itinerary includes Tauranga, Mount Maunganui, and Hamilton.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 24, 2015 at 12:29 PM

      • Ah, places I visited so long ago they almost belong to my dreamtime.

        Gallivanta

        February 24, 2015 at 11:15 PM

        • Maybe I’ll dream about them after I return to Austin. Mount Maunganui proved my favorite of the places mentioned because of the surf breaking on the rocks, which I took many pictures of. There’s no ocean in Austin, so I had to profit from yours while I could.

          Steve Schwartzman

          February 25, 2015 at 2:26 AM

  3. The Hamilton Gardens are well worth a visit, if you have the time. I like your new word–impressiony–very much! Safe travels, Steve.

    krikitarts

    February 24, 2015 at 5:42 PM

    • Thanks for your recommendation, Gary. By coincidence, I’m in Hamilton as I write this. I take it you find the gardens here impressiony.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 25, 2015 at 2:20 AM

  4. This reminds me of Melissa’s paintings. Colorful with that nice soft soothing quality. I hope she agrees..

    Steve Gingold

    February 25, 2015 at 4:05 AM


Leave a Reply

