Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Spectacle pod

with 14 comments

Spectacle Pod Flowers 0149

Here’s a plant in the mustard family, Dimorphocarpa wislizeni, that’s commonly known as spectacle pod because of the curiously shaped little seed capsules it produces. I got acquainted with this species on September 23rd at Petroglyph National Monument in northwest Albuquerque. Apparently an insect had gotten acquainted with a few of the petals before me.

© 2014 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

October 16, 2014 at 5:31 AM

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The spectacle pods also look like sleeping masks.

    Gallivanta

    October 16, 2014 at 6:13 AM

  2. My first thought was of palmiers, one of my favorite breakfast treats. Unfortunately, I know there aren’t any of those within a convenient distance, so it’s going to have to be coffee and spectacle pods today. (Notice how the pods’ fuzziness seems to resemble coarse sugar. This is killing me.)

    shoreacres

    October 16, 2014 at 7:22 AM

    • I wouldn’t have known what you were talking about if my local Costco hadn’t started carrying palmiers within the last few years (and you can check to see if a Costco in your area carries them too). Now that I know, I can see what your imagination sees in this spectacle pod.

      Why is the resemblance to coarse sugar killing you?

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 16, 2014 at 9:09 AM

      • Oh – I guess that would be called an idiomatic use of “kill.” Or, slang maybe. The urban dictionary doesn’t have the exact phrase, but does have plenty of entries for “killer”: excellent,outstanding,extremely satisfying, as in: “that dress is a killer.” It’s often used as a verb in sentences like, “You’re killing me here.” In this case, I meant that the resemblance to sugar is so realistic it made me want one of those pastries even more.

        shoreacres

        October 16, 2014 at 10:40 AM

        • I’m familiar with that sense of killer but I wanted to make sure that’s how you meant your last sentence.

          Steve Schwartzman

          October 16, 2014 at 3:45 PM

  3. hahaha I just read this: “An infusion of the plant was taken by men to “loosen their tongues so they may talk like fools and drunken men.” Maybe another reason to call it a spectacle pod. I can just picture it.

    Debra

    October 16, 2014 at 7:28 AM

    • That’s a good image: people making a spectacle of themselves. As a photographer I often make a spectacle of myself by getting down on the ground and into contorted positions in order to photograph my subjects.

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 16, 2014 at 9:13 AM

  4. What cool pods. I like Linda’s vision better than specs though. Mmmmm.

    Steve Gingold

    October 16, 2014 at 6:39 PM

  5. Love the detail you captured, this plant has a lot to create interest and you captured it well.

    Charlie@Seattle Trekker

    October 17, 2014 at 2:26 PM

    • This may have been the first close-up portrait I did of a flower on the trip. Fortunately a little sign identified it for me.

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 17, 2014 at 4:45 PM

  6. I like those seed pods, very cute. They could also look like upside down hearts.

    Emily Scott

    October 19, 2014 at 3:24 PM


Leave a Reply

