Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Archive for March 13th, 2016

Floral autumn in March

with 20 comments

Goldenrod Flowering in March 7245

While driving into my neighborhood along Morado Circle at the end of the first week in March I noticed an anomaly: a flowering goldenrod plant. If you know goldenrod, you know that it normally blooms in the fall or occasionally in late summer, so what this one was doing flowering in March I have no idea.

This goldenrod might be Solidago nemoralis. The genus is glommed-together Latin for ‘I make whole,’ a reference to the reputed medicinal value of some goldenrods; the species name suggests that the plant grows in the woods or in the shade of trees.

After passing this prodigy by car for several days, I went back with my camera and ring flash on the drizzly morning of March 10 to take some pictures, including the one you see here.

© 2016 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

March 13, 2016 at 5:18 AM