Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Baby blue-eyes after the rain

with 30 comments

 

On the morning of April 2nd, after rain the previous day, I went wandering through Springfield Neighborhood Park in southeast Austin. Not unexpectedly for the place and time of year, I found some baby blue-eyes, Nemophila phacelioides. Here are a couple of those flowers that were in different orientations; together the two views give you a good sense of what these flowers are like.

 

 

Curious about the two brown drops and the brown traces farther down, I asked about them in the Texas Flora group. One person suggested nectar.

 

 

§

§      §      §

§

 

 

In April of 2022—coincidentally in the post where I last showed baby blue-eyes—I quoted from and linked to an article by William Deresiewicz in which he explained how he, a self-styled progressive, became disillusioned with media outlets he used to love, in particular NPR (National Public Radio).

On April 9th of this year Uri Berliner, a senior business editor at NPR, levied a similar complaint against the organization in his piece for The Free Press “I’ve Been at NPR for 25 Years. Here’s How We Lost America’s Trust.” And here’s a section of his article:

 

Back in 2011, although NPR’s audience tilted a bit to the left, it still bore a resemblance to America at large. Twenty-six percent of listeners described themselves as conservative, 23 percent as middle of the road, and 37 percent as liberal.

By 2023, the picture was completely different: only 11 percent described themselves as very or somewhat conservative, 21 percent as middle of the road, and 67 percent of listeners said they were very or somewhat liberal. We weren’t just losing conservatives; we were also losing moderates and traditional liberals. 

An open-minded spirit no longer exists within NPR, and now, predictably, we don’t have an audience that reflects America. 

That wouldn’t be a problem for an openly polemical news outlet serving a niche audience. But for NPR, which purports to consider all things, it’s devastating both for its journalism and its business model.

 

And look at this later on:

 

… Concerned by the lack of viewpoint diversity, I looked at voter registration for our newsroom. In D.C., where NPR is headquartered and many of us live, I found 87 registered Democrats working in editorial positions and zero Republicans. None. 

So on May 3, 2021, I presented the findings at an all-hands editorial staff meeting. When I suggested we had a diversity problem with a score of 87 Democrats and zero Republicans, the response wasn’t hostile. It was worse. It was met with profound indifference. I got a few messages from surprised, curious colleagues. But the messages were of the “oh wow, that’s weird” variety, as if the lopsided tally was a random anomaly rather than a critical failure of our diversity North Star. 

 

You read that right: 87 people from one side of the political scale and 0 from the other. Sure sounds balanced to me. Doesn’t that sound fair to you?

 

You’re welcome to read Uri Berliner’s full indictment of National Public Radio, which I’ll remind you gets some of its funding from the American government, which is to say from us, the taxpayers.

 

© 2024 Steven Schwartzman

 

 

 

 

 

 

Written by Steve Schwartzman

April 14, 2024 at 4:09 AM

30 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. They’re wonderful 😍😍😍

    Gr33n Raindeer

    April 14, 2024 at 4:44 AM

  2. Lovely photographs, Steve, especially the surface detail of the petals. They have that slightly sparkly (not sure that’s the word I really want) look that I sometimes see in flower petals as they age. It intrigues me. 🙂

    Ann Mackay

    April 14, 2024 at 5:30 AM

  3. love the color of these

    beth

    April 14, 2024 at 7:23 AM

    • This is another case in which I see the color as violet or lavender, whereas whoever named the flower saw it as blue. That made me wonder if it’s because people’s eyes more often get described as blue rather than violet. To check that, I did a search for “woman with violet eyes” and got 50 million hits (with the first being about Elizabeth Taylor). In contrast, a search for “woman with blue eyes” returned 2.3 billion hits.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 14, 2024 at 7:36 AM

  4. April 6th, I found a few of these down by the Piano Bridge. Every time I see them, I admire them for their color and petite size, but inevitably I remember this as well. I wonder if the larger drops formed after some insect bit into the flower around the stem; those tiny bits of brown might mark the initial incision.

    shoreacres

    April 14, 2024 at 10:22 AM

    • Willie Nelson was almost half a century younger in that video than he is now. Your conjecture about an incision made me think that he still hasn’t been “excised” from the music scene.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 14, 2024 at 4:57 PM

  5. Excellent shots, Steve. Wondering if you used flash.

    oneowner

    April 14, 2024 at 1:49 PM

    • Wonder no more: I did, primarily so I could stop down my macro lens for good depth of field. Close flash also often facilitates a dark background.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 14, 2024 at 4:59 PM

  6. I love that second image. It reminds me of a Fairy’s cap. Great macro. I love the details. Those fuzzy leaves, the drops, and those two bright pink jewels at the top. Lovely!

    circadianreflections

    April 15, 2024 at 9:52 AM

    • I’m happy to have pleased you on multiple counts with the second image. My strategy is that if I put myself out there often enough good things will inevitably come my way. So far that strategy has kept on working. Also, as I was saying to myself yesterday morning while out photographing: it’d be a pretty sorry nature photographer who couldn’t get good pictures in mid-April in central Texas with so many things offering themselves up.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 15, 2024 at 10:21 AM

      • LOL! Well, thankfully, for we viewers that’s not you! 🌺

        circadianreflections

        April 15, 2024 at 10:35 AM

        • No, it’s not me, as I’ve taken a slew of pictures this month, sometimes wearing myself out in the process but not willing to turn down all the things that beckon.

          Steve Schwartzman

          April 15, 2024 at 10:48 AM

  7. very pretty, and every hair on the calyx is visible!

    jane tims

    April 15, 2024 at 5:25 PM

  8. Very cute flower, the nectar looks like a pair of eyes.

    Alessandra Chaves

    April 15, 2024 at 7:57 PM

  9. […] My commentary three days ago described how Uri Berliner, a “progressive” who has worked at NPR (National Public Radio) for more than two decades, wrote an article criticizing how politically one-sided the organization, which gets part of its funding from American taxpayers, has become. For example, he described how, […]

  10. […] A post four days ago revealed that on the morning of April 2nd I went wandering through Springfield Neighborhood Park in southeast Austin. After several coral honeysuckle flowers (Lonicera sempervirens) along the path beckoned to me I heeded their colorful call and was pleased with some of the abstractions I came away with. While photographers often consider the shadows that flash casts a defect, in this case I found the shadows enhanced the composition by adding radiating linear black elements that not only echo the flowers’ red ones but also simultaneously create a third set of alternating green ones. […]

  11. Delightful!

    Julie@frogpondfarm

    April 20, 2024 at 2:49 PM


Leave a comment