Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Another dense wildflower colony

with 27 comments

 

Between Lockhart and Delhi (not the one in India) on March 5th we stopped for this roadside vista. I take the yellow flowers to be Texas groundsel (Senecio ampullaceus), though most of the plants were shorter than what I’m used to for that species. The lavender-colored flowers are some kind of vetch (Vicia sp.), and the orange ones are Indian paintbrushes (Castilleja indivisa).

 

§

§        §        §

§

 

Been a while since I entertained you with some WordPress spam.

Can I just say what a reduction to seek out somebody who actually is aware of what theyre speaking about on the internet. You positively know learn how to carry a difficulty to gentle and make it important. Extra people must read this and perceive this aspect of the story. I cant believe youre no more well-liked because you definitely have the gift.

It is a among its kind. Like nothing else.

The Amazingness will certainly transform the way you do whatever.

You’ll be in a haze of efficiency, clarity and happiness.

How? Amazingness can assist you live an amazing life by supplying you with the tools to be a lot more efficient and also get even more performed in much less time.

 

I gotta get me some of that amazing Amazingness that’s a among its kind.

You should get yourselves some too.

 

© 2023 Steven Schwartzman

 

 

 

Written by Steve Schwartzman

March 10, 2023 at 4:13 AM

27 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Amazingness seems to be everywhere these days. It’s been a while since I looked at my spam file, and look what I found: “The Amazingness lets you get even more performed in less time, without all the stress and anxiety.” That was only one of a multitude. Here’s a slogan for our day: “Bots of the world unite. You have nothing to lose but your creativity.”

    I much prefer that glorious patch of yellow. Most of the vetch I’ve seen in the past week has been on the way out, but it certainly provides a nice counterpoint here.

    shoreacres

    March 10, 2023 at 6:35 AM

    • Ah, so you got yourself some of that amazing Amazingness too. I wonder if we all did.

      Like the vetch you saw in your peregrinations, the vetch in this picture also seemed a little past its prime. I liked it for its complementary color, even if faint.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 10, 2023 at 8:18 AM

  2. Those little pops of purple and red throughout the field are wonderful.

    circadianreflections

    March 10, 2023 at 7:56 AM

  3. I have an amazing and efficient likingness for “a haze of efficiency, clarity and happiness.”

    Robert Parker

    March 10, 2023 at 8:03 AM

    • If the trend catches on, people who are often in a haze can happily fend off criticism by pointing out how efficient they are.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 10, 2023 at 8:21 AM

  4. I got some amazing Amazingness from your photo of the wildflowers. 🙂

    Gallivanta

    March 10, 2023 at 8:12 PM

  5. Hmm…well, the expanse of groundsel has plenty of ‘Amazingness’! I think your spam is more amusing than mine, hehe!

    Ann Mackay

    March 11, 2023 at 10:43 AM

  6. For some reason, possibly apparent, vetch always reads first for me as kvetch.

    Steve Gingold

    March 11, 2023 at 6:38 PM

    • I like the subtlety of your “possibly apparent.” Did you know that the original meaning of kvetch was ‘squeeze’?

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 12, 2023 at 9:49 AM

      • I did not but I guess a kvetcher could squeeze a bit of discomfort out of the kvetchee.

        Steve Gingold

        March 16, 2023 at 6:18 PM

  7. That is a packed colony. Plenty of Amazingness.

    Alessandra Chaves

    March 11, 2023 at 10:16 PM

  8. The expanse of gold punctuated with orange and lavender is beautiful, Steve. Thank you for stopping and taking that photo!

    The SPAM folder fills up with amazing stuff. 🙂

    Lavinia Ross

    March 12, 2023 at 12:44 PM

  9. Not yet finding any spring colors in this part of the country, I’m impressed by (and envious of) the beauty and vibrancy of your wildflower colony.
    I’m also impressed that you actually read your spam messages. I don’t, though yours prove that there is some amusement to be had in their Amazingness.

    tanjabrittonwriter

    March 13, 2023 at 9:04 AM

    • As you noted, spring has sprung here, wildflowerly speaking. One spring you’ll have to come down and see them, along with your beloved birdies (https://travisaudubon.org/popular-birding-sites-in-austin).

      I occasionally look through my spam because every so often WordPress mistakenly sends a legitimate comment there, and I feel I owe a reply to each person who comments.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 13, 2023 at 9:11 AM

      • Until our own spring makes an appearance, I will have to enjoy it vicariously through my fellow bloggers.

        I have no doubt that Austin has many lovely wildflower and birding spots, as do many other destinations in Texas. If I ever get organized enough to visit, I might not want to leave again!

        It’s thoughtful of you not to want to miss any misdirected “legitimate” comments. I hate to miss them, too, but have a tendency to forget to check the spam folder, so by the time I do, it often contains several hundred messages, and I’m simply too lazy to scan every one.

        tanjabrittonwriter

        March 13, 2023 at 12:13 PM


Leave a comment