Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Archive for March 29th, 2020

Four-nerve daisy portrait 1

with 40 comments

At the West Pickle Campus on March 18th I made portraits of several four-nerve daisies, Tetraneuris linearifolia. Because those wildflowers are among the most common in the Austin area and I’ve portrayed them many times over the past two decades, I’m always looking for different ways to photograph them. In today’s post and two more you’ll see what I came up with. All the images have limited focus because I was working beneath trees on an overcast morning. Not wanting to include junk on the ground, I least often aim straight down at my subjects; in this case the lighter patches corresponding to other things below were far enough out of focus and amorphous enough to make a pleasant background.

© 2020 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

March 29, 2020 at 4:42 AM