Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Archive for October 9th, 2016

Maximilian sunflowers and feathery clouds

with 27 comments

maximilian-sunflower-swaying-by-streaky-clouds-1257

Along State Park Road P31 south of Guadalupe River State Park on September 29th I stopped to photograph some Maximilian sunflowers (Helianthus maximiliani). The only way I could line up any of the tall plants against the array of feathery clouds overhead was to face toward the sun. Even with a lens hood on my wide-angle lens I had to hold one hand out in front of and above that lens to block the sun that was just above the frame in order to eliminate flare and polygons inside the frame. It was hit and miss, what with my left hand involuntarily moving as I held the camera in my right hand while the plant swayed back and forth in the breeze, so I took a bunch of pictures in the hope that at least a few would work well. The one shown here seems pretty good.

© 2016 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

October 9, 2016 at 5:00 AM