Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Archive for October 28th, 2016

Why I’d gone back to the prairie

with 15 comments

snow-on-the-prairie-fruiting-by-broomweed-colony-0951

On September 28th I went back to the new street in Manor called Wildhorse Ranch Trail to see how the snow-on-the-prairie was coming along on the Blackland Prairie since my last visit exactly three weeks earlier. I found that most of the Euphorbia bicolor plants had produced their fuzzy little tripartite green seed capsules, as you see here. In the background is part of the flowering mound of broomweed, Amphiachyris dracunculoides, that dazzled you last time (I hope you won’t mind if I put words in your mouth).

© 2016 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

October 28, 2016 at 5:02 AM