Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Death camas

with 11 comments

Click for greater clarity.

Believe the name: death camas can kill you if you eat it. This was one of at least a dozen plants of Zigadenus nuttallii that I found in an undeveloped lot in northwest Austin on March 6. If you see a resemblance between an individual flower here and one in the recently featured crow poison—which may or may not actually be poisonous—it’s because both plants are in the lily family.

© 2012 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

March 23, 2012 at 5:21 AM

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Forget it! I ain’t putting it in my salad! 🙂
    Great shot Steve!

    avian101

    March 23, 2012 at 7:49 AM

  2. Good information.

    georgettesullins

    March 23, 2012 at 12:16 PM

  3. Not a plant for my yard then! My geese try everything I plant once to see if it is good, and I am certain they would try these, at least once….
    ~ Lynda
    (Roses are a delicacy even with their thorns! 😦 )

    pixilated2

    March 25, 2012 at 6:53 AM

    • Some things that are poisonous to people are not poisonous to animals, but you probably wouldn’t want to take a chance with this one.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 25, 2012 at 8:42 AM

  4. This is quite beautiful despite its reputation. Super photo Steve!!!

    dhphotosite

    March 26, 2012 at 9:29 AM

    • Yes, it is a beautiful wildflower. In this case the name really is justified; I’ve read accounts of the suffering of people who’ve ingested it.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 26, 2012 at 9:42 AM

  5. […] pages have recently shown you two white-flowered members of the lily family, crow poison and death camas. Another local member of the family is wild garlic, Allium drummondii, whose flowers can be white […]

  6. Thanks for pointing my way to this photo: I don’t think I’ve ever seen a photo of death camas, in spite of reading about it and writing about it.

    mrsdaffodil

    December 27, 2013 at 12:07 PM


Leave a comment