Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Three takes on Apache plume

with 35 comments

 

I’m always happy when I get far enough west of Austin that I can photograph Apache plume, Fallugia paradoxa. The xeriscape garden in front of the Western Heritage Museum in Hobbs, New Mexico, gave me my latest chance to do so on May 13th.

 

 

Different backgrounds, compositions, and processing produced different results.

 

 

Coincidentally, the last time I’d photographed Apache plume was outside a different
New Mexico museum when we spent time in that state a year and a half earlier.

 

 

 

§

§       §       §

§

 

 

Plus ça change, plus c’est la même chose.
The more things change, the more they stay the same.

 

This past Tuesday saw the issuance of an “executive action” that purports to largely suspend entry of noncitizens into the United States once there has been an average of at least 2,500 encounters with illegal border crossers for seven consecutive days. The new measures will be suspended as soon as the average number of encounters with illegal border crossers drops to “only” 1,500 a day.

My inclination was to write a commentary about that as part of Wednesday’s post. I planned to look at what would have kept the new measures from being imposed in the first place, namely an average of 2,499 encounters with illegal border crossers every day. Because a year consists on average of approximately 365.2422 days, I’d have multiplied that number by 2,499. I’d have asked why the result, about 912,740, is somehow an acceptable number of illegal border crossers, a great many of whom are allowed to stay in the country despite having entered the country illegally. I’d have asked why the “acceptable” number of illegal border crossings shouldn’t instead have been 1,499 or 499 or any number other than 0. If the number of current yearly legal immigrants isn’t high enough, why not ask Congress to raise that number? But Tuesday’s announcement didn’t answer any of those questions. It didn’t even describe the specific measures that the government was going to begin applying the very next day, Wednesday, when, because the 2,500 number has been far exceeded every day for months on end, the new order would be going into effect immediately.

With so many questions unanswered, I decided to wait a few days to see what actually happened. The best I can tell, nothing has changed. As of yesterday, a television reporter in Jacumba, California, on the border with Mexico, reported as many people crossing illegally as before, many of whom were being mass-released into the United States with notices to appear in immigration court on dates years in the future—the same farce as before the “change” in policy.

So you’ll have to forgive an old cynic for concluding that the executive “action” five months before the presidential election was merely a ploy to try to fool voters into thinking that now, after three-and-a-half years of lawless chaos, the border is finally under control. If you believe that, I have a bridge in Brooklyn I’d be happy to sell you at a bargain price.

 

UPDATE: After this post went out, I came upon a June 7th article by Anna Giaritelli in the Washington Examiner that begins:

 

U.S. Border Patrol agents in Southern California have been instructed to admit migrants from far-off countries rather than place them in removal proceedings, a move that goes against the White House’s Tuesday ban on asylum-seekers.

A government document given to federal law enforcement in San Diego, California, following President Joe Biden’s executive order to keep migrants from seeking asylum in the United States advises that migrants from all but six of the more than 100 countries in the Eastern Hemisphere be released into the United States rather than deported.

The instruction contradicts what senior Biden administration officials told reporters in a call on Tuesday would be the case for migrants from Eastern Hemisphere countries who traveled through multiple countries without seeking asylum in order to reach the U.S., referred to as extra-hemispheric migrants.

 

Looks like cynical old me got it right: there’ll be no significant change from before. You can read the full article.

 

© 2024 Steven Schwartzman

 

 

 

 

 

 

Written by Steve Schwartzman

June 8, 2024 at 4:14 AM

35 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you, Steve, for the excellent photos of the unusual flower!

    Joanna

    gabychops

    June 8, 2024 at 4:52 AM

    • Though in the rose family, the feathery strands that Apache plume produces are a lot like those of a Clematis, which is in a different botanical family. Biologists call that kind of similarity “convergent evolution.”

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 8, 2024 at 6:34 AM

      • Thank you, Steve, for your erudite comment! Much appreciated!

        Joanna

        gabychops

        June 8, 2024 at 6:42 AM

        • Now I don’t see how I can avoid adding that the word erudite comes from the past participle of the Latin verb ērudīre , consisting of ex, meaning ‘out of,’ and rudis, meaning ‘unformed, rough, raw, wild.’ Someone erudite has been brought out of an unformed, rough, raw, wild condition.

          Steve Schwartzman

          June 8, 2024 at 7:04 AM

  2. Excellent!

    rabirius

    June 8, 2024 at 6:32 AM

  3. That’s so unusual and beautiful

    beth

    June 8, 2024 at 7:41 AM

    • I find it unusual, too, and yet many species, particularly those in the genus Clematis, produce feathery strands like those shown here. The most common native one in Austin, Clematis drummondii, has given much to photograph over the years. At the same time, its flowers are quite different from those of Apache plume, so I was happy to have an unfamiliar (relative to Austin) kind of flower to play off against the plumy seed strands.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 8, 2024 at 7:50 AM

  4. LOL! How delightful! I see one of Dr. Seuss’s characters holding up that lovely bloom to show you/us, and in the last one sharing it with his friend the insect! 😊

    All three images are lovely and had me giggling with the silly thoughts of Dr. Seuss.

    circadianreflections

    June 8, 2024 at 8:04 AM

    • Your suggestion has let me see the “holding up” now, though still with no Dr. Seuss character as the agent. While I’m aware of Dr. Seuss’s books, I’ve never read any of them. Reciprocally, he died in 1991 without ever seeing any of my photographs (at least so far as I know).

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 8, 2024 at 8:20 AM

  5. It’s really astonishing, how the different backgrounds change the perception of the main motif.

    Have a great weekend,

    Pit

    Pit

    June 8, 2024 at 11:55 AM

    • I’ve often said, only semi-facetiously, that the three most important things in a photograph are background, background, and background. And in the middle view, with its different composition, adjusting the picture to make the white flower look its best also darkened everything farther back.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 8, 2024 at 12:02 PM

  6. I love Apache plume! The first time I saw it was many years ago, long before I cared much about plants, let alone, gardening. We were camping at one of the campgrounds at Guadalupe National Park and the area was full of these beauties!

    I’ve seen it a Shoal Creek Nursery and Barton Springs Nursery. I thought about planting one in my now full-sun garden, but haven’t. Your lovely photos sure tempt me to change my mind about that though…:)

    Tina

    June 8, 2024 at 7:54 PM

    • Somehow I never imagined there was a time when you didn’t care about plants or have a garden. (On the other hand, that would be true of all of us as toddlers.)

      Like you, I’ve photographed Apache plume at Guadalupe National Park, which I’m thinking is the closest to Austin I’ve ever found it. You’ve found it in Austin, but of course at nurseries rather than on its own in the wild. Have you also considered planting our local Clematis drummondii, which has similar plumes? I searched your blog for that just now but didn’t get any hits.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 9, 2024 at 7:51 AM

  7. The scientific name intrigued me. Paradoxa made immediate sense, although I was slightly off in my assumption about the nature of the paradox being referenced. Fallugia perhaps inevitably brought the battle of Fallujah to mind, although there’s no obvious conflict between the flowe and the seed head. The Santa Fe Botanical Garden sorted it out for me: “The botanical genus Fallugia is named for an Italian botanist, Abbott V. Fallugi of Vallombrosa. circa 1840.  The specific epithet paradoxa means “contrary to expectation” and is more descriptive of the plant because “contrary to expectation,” the Apache plume is a member of the Rose family.”

    It apparently attracts a passel of insects, too. The one in your last photo’s obvious, but I think I can count five and perhaps six in your second photo. I also read that the plant is drought tolerant and hardy to minus (!) thirty degrees. Looking at the maps, I do wonder if it would thrive in Austin, despite its presence in the nurseries.

    shoreacres

    June 9, 2024 at 8:46 AM

    • Let’s hope the temperature in Austin never drops below zero to accommodate the growing of Apache plume here.

      Like you, the sound of Fallugia has made me think of the unrelated Fallujah in Iraq. I’m glad you tracked down the reason for the plant’s specific epithet. My first encounter with it years ago made me assume I was looking at a Clematis of some sort, based on the feathery strands. Of course the different flowers belie that, although to be fair to my assumption, Clematis flowers vary a lot within the genus: those of old man’s beard don’t resemble those of the two leatherflower species in Austin.

      Speaking of a passel of insects, did you know the word is another form of parcel?

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 9, 2024 at 9:07 AM

  8. I’m not familiar with this one, though I may have seen it when living in NM or AZ. I love how different each of these looks from the others, even with the same subject. Hard to pick a favorite image, it’s more a favorite arrangement. Really nice.

    Todd Henson

    June 9, 2024 at 1:11 PM

    • Thanks. The teacher in me wanted to show what a difference different configurations and techniques can make. Apache plume is an excellent plant to do that with.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 9, 2024 at 5:30 PM

  9. Lovely close up of the Apache plume, what a delicate botanical structure!

    Alessandra Chaves

    June 11, 2024 at 9:17 PM

    • Those plumy strands are strikingly similar to the ones produced in Austin by Clematis drummondii, which fortunately is common here and offers me many chances to photograph its intricate plumes without even having to leave my part of town.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 12, 2024 at 7:29 AM

  10. The number of illegal immigrants admitted should be zero. If immigrants are desirable then the quota for legal immigrants needs to be raised. I agree with you.

    Alessandra Chaves

    June 11, 2024 at 9:20 PM

    • I’m pretty sure a large majority of Americans also agree. It’s a scandal that the government doesn’t go along with the people it supposedly represents.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 12, 2024 at 7:33 AM

    • Too logical for government.

      Alessandra Chaves

      June 12, 2024 at 10:07 PM

      • Some (or many) people in the government understand the situation well but want to impose their ideology.

        Steve Schwartzman

        June 13, 2024 at 5:45 AM

  11. Wonderful backgrounds Steve … what a great plant to photograph

    Julie@frogpondfarm

    June 14, 2024 at 3:47 PM

    • Just call me Mr. Background. I do pay a lot of attention to what’s behind my subjects and I move around as much as possible to line those subjects up with something flattering. It’s not always possible, but often it is.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 14, 2024 at 3:55 PM


Leave a comment