Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

13 years

with 60 comments

 

Today marks 13 years since the first Portraits of Wildflowers post appeared. To commemorate the day, here are a few photographs from early this spring that hadn’t made it into any prior post—not, I hope you’ll agree, from any lack of intrinsic interest, but because I take more pictures than I can ever show here. The opening view features a line of Engelmann daisies, Engelmannia persistenia, on an embankment of US 281 south of Lampasas on April 13th (which I’ll dub Great Clouds Day, for obvious reasons).

 

 

The three portraits that follow are from Driftwood on April 8 while waiting for the total solar eclipse. The flower head that somehow persisted on a broken stalk is silverpuff, Chaptalia texana. Next, look at the interaction between two white milkwort inflorescences, Polygala alba.

 

 

Then comes what I take to be a katydid nymph on what I know to be a Penstemon cobaea flower.

 

 

Below is the opening bud of a prairie celestial, Nemastylis geminiflora, from Round Rock on March 27.

 

 

 Oh well, guess I should show you what a mostly open flower in that species looks like.

 

 

 

§

 

While I was working on this blogiversary post last week, the idea suddenly popped into my head of posing a question to ChatGPT: “What can you say about Steven Schwartzman’s nature photography?” An answer came back almost immediately:

“Steven Schwartzman is renowned for his nature photography, capturing the intricate beauty of plants and flowers with a keen eye for detail. His work often highlights the delicate structures and vivid colors of various botanical subjects, presenting them in a way that emphasizes their natural elegance and complexity. Schwartzman’s photography is characterized by his ability to focus on the subtleties of texture and form, making even the most familiar plants appear fresh and intriguing. His images are not only visually striking but also convey a deep appreciation for the natural world. If you have specific questions about his techniques or particular pieces, feel free to ask!” 

Artificial intelligence (AI) systems have come up with some crazy stuff, but you won’t hold it against me if I felt that this time ChatGPT might have gotten things right. One quibble is the word “renowned,” which does seem quite a stretch.

Yesterday it occurred to me to ask ChatGPT the same question again and see how consistent the new answer would be with the former one. Here’s what I got:

“Steven Schwartzman is a renowned nature photographer known for his captivating images of plants and flowers. His work often focuses on close-up and macro photography, highlighting the intricate details and beauty of natural subjects. Schwartzman has a unique ability to capture the essence and texture of plants, making his photographs visually striking and engaging. His photography often showcases the delicate structures and vibrant colors of his subjects, bringing a fresh perspective to the natural world. Schwartzman’s images are appreciated for their artistic quality as well as their scientific precision, making them valuable to both art lovers and botanists.”

Maybe I really am renowned and I just don’t know it. Then I got the idea to ask a modified question: “What can you say about Steven Schwartzman’s nature photography that you didn’t say the other two times I asked?” Here’s the answer ChatGPT provided:

“Stephen Schwarzman is not primarily known for nature photography; he’s better recognized as a billionaire investor and philanthropist, co-founder, chairman, and CEO of The Blackstone Group. While he may have personal interests in photography, especially given his wide-ranging pursuits, there’s not much specific information available about his nature photography endeavors. If you’re interested in nature photography, perhaps you could explore the works of renowned photographers like Ansel Adams or Annie Leibovitz!”

Hmm. ChatGPT confused me with someone who spells both his first and last name differently from mine and who is indeed recognized as a billionaire investor and philanthropist and not at all as a photographer. Notice also that unlike Ansel Adams, Annie Leibovitz is best known for her portraits of people, not nature photography.

Looks like we should take anything ChatGPT says with a hefty dose of caution. Maybe I’m not even renowned.

 

© 2024 Steven Schwartzman

 

 

 

Written by Steve Schwartzman

June 4, 2024 at 4:11 AM

60 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congratulations! Beautiful photos.

    And thanks for the gigg.

    Jenny Meadows

    June 4, 2024 at 4:56 AM

    • The number 13 being prime, I get to say that this blog is in its prime.

      What did you mean in your last sentence?

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 4, 2024 at 6:00 AM

      • I don’t know why my paragraph got cut off. Here it is, to the best of my memory:

        Thank you for the giggles re the Chat GPT responses. I would never have thought to query it twice, much less 3 times.

        Thanks, Steve.

        Jenny

        Jenny Meadows

        June 4, 2024 at 6:36 PM

        • You’re welcome, and thanks for the emendation. Regarding ChatGPT, I also wondered if the same query coming from someone other than me would get a different answer.

          Steve Schwartzman

          June 4, 2024 at 6:41 PM

          • Me:
            What can you say about Steven Schwartzman’s nature photography?

            ChatGPT:
            As of my last update, I don’t have specific information about Steven Schwartzman’s nature photography. However, if he is known for it, I’d imagine his work reflects a keen eye for detail and a deep appreciation for the beauty of the natural world. Nature photography often requires patience, skill in composition, and an understanding of light and the environment. It would be interesting to explore his portfolio to see the subjects he captures and the unique perspectives he brings to his photography.

            SO MUCH FOR CONSISTENCY! – Jenny

            Jenny JenniferMeadows

            June 6, 2024 at 11:59 PM

            • I appreciate your also trying the query. The “if he is known for it” strikes me as politician-speak or lawyer-speak: distancing oneself from commitment and from saying something unambiguously. And, as you said, there’s the question of consistency. I’m beginning to suspect I can detect when a paragraph comes from AI.

              Steve Schwartzman

              June 7, 2024 at 4:44 AM

              • Agreed. If I’d received words like that to edit, I would have asked the author what point s/he was trying to make. It’s pretty waffle-y. As you say, like many politicians.

                Jenny Meadows

                June 7, 2024 at 6:11 PM

  2. These photographs of flowers remind me of Mapplethorpe’s work.

    Jonathan

    Jonathan Lister

    June 4, 2024 at 5:28 AM

  3. Thank you, Steve, for the wonderful, as always, photos, and for keeping your sense of humor!

    And congratulations on the anniversary!

    Joanna

    gabychops

    June 4, 2024 at 5:30 AM

    • Thanks. And thanks to all the people over two centuries who developed the camera equipment and digital technology that let me carry out my craft.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 4, 2024 at 6:12 AM

      • Yes, you are right, Steve, it was the achievement of a few visionary people to discover and provide the means of holding the image for posterity.

        Joanna

        gabychops

        June 4, 2024 at 10:52 AM

        • The year 1839 is when photography first became practical, so we’re heading toward its 200th anniversary.

          Steve Schwartzman

          June 4, 2024 at 12:40 PM

          • Yes, I wrote the series on the best discoveries in the world, I might re-publish it as they are fascinating, especially the images!

            Joanna

            gabychops

            June 4, 2024 at 12:43 PM

  4. I think I would have stopped at the first ChatGPT response. Seriously, congratulations on the milestone, Steve. Very nice work.

    oneowner

    June 4, 2024 at 7:00 AM

    • Better a milestone than a millstone, right? And those words come from ChatSS rather than ChatGPT.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 4, 2024 at 7:11 AM

  5. Happy blogiversary, Steve. AI seems to have a way to go, but I think the first two got close to the mark!

    Eliza Waters

    June 4, 2024 at 7:13 AM

  6. Happy blogiversary, Steve. I was nodding in agreement with the first two.

    circadianreflections

    June 4, 2024 at 7:39 AM

  7. Thirteen years of exquisite images, and thirteen years of combining photography with easy-to-understand pedagogy: renowned or not, your work’s deeply appreciated. The fact that I could identify each of today’s selections attests to its value, as well as its appeal.

    As for ChatGPT, I’ve been tempted for a while to give it a first try. Using your link, I did, asking it to “write an etheree celebrating prairie grasses.” I’m still laughing. In response, I received six quatrains with an ABAB rhyme scheme and some exquisitely pedestrian metaphors. At least the little Chat Engine That Could recognized that it should head off down the track called ‘poetry.’

    shoreacres

    June 4, 2024 at 7:50 AM

    • Thanks for the epithet exquisite. I’d not thought about the word’s origin, which is transparently from a past participle of the Latin compound consisting of an intensifying use of ex– prefixed to the verb quaerere that meant ‘to see out,’ resulting in the meaning ‘to search out diligently.’ (And there you have another instance of pedagogy.) Specifically, we’ve both now spent years searching out—and often finding and revealing—the intricacies of Texas flora.

      Six quatrains do not an etheree make—a lesson ChatGPT has yet to learn, exquisite pedestrian metaphors aside. It would be amusing if you included the results in a poem of your own. It would also be another cautionary note about artificial “intelligence.”

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 4, 2024 at 8:24 AM

  8. Here’s to many many many more!!!!

    marina kanavaki

    June 4, 2024 at 8:24 AM

  9. The green bug with its very long feelers is especially appealing to me. Happy 13th anniversary to blogging, my friend!

    Peter Klopp

    June 4, 2024 at 12:31 PM

    • Thank you. Hard to believe it’s been 13 years.

      Imagine if people had feelers as proportionately long as those on a katydid.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 4, 2024 at 12:35 PM

  10. Congrats on a beautiful blog–looking forward to more gorgeous photos!

    Tina

    June 4, 2024 at 12:48 PM

  11. First, congratulations on your 13th year of blogging. The celebratory photographs are all very nice. Second, it is interesting that the information on CHATGTP is accurate, or seems to be. Renowned is subjective after all. But as I recall you have published a few books on Texas wildflowers, right? And those books have introductions about you, I suppose. This may be the same source of the information. What the machine does is, scan the web and cough it up.

    Alessandra Chaves

    June 4, 2024 at 6:54 PM

    • Thanks for your congratulations. Thirteen years is a long time.

      On the other matter, about 15 years ago I submitted a detailed illustrated proposal for a book of my native Texas wildflower portraits to the University of Texas Press, Texas A&M University Press, and Texas Tech University Press. I got nowhere. To this day I’ve had no book of my nature photography published. I have provided the pictures and text for three fold-up Texas nature guides, for example this one. The online descriptions of those guides may have contributed to what ChatGPT said.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 4, 2024 at 7:10 PM

  12. The prairie celestial is utterly gorgeous – heavenly even! Happy 13th blogiversary…here’s to many more blogging years to come! 🙂

    Ann Mackay

    June 5, 2024 at 5:30 AM

    • Thanks for your good wishes. The prospect of many more blogging years is daunting.

      How appropriate for you to see the prairie celestial as heavenly.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 5, 2024 at 5:50 AM

  13. Congratulations Steve! 13 is lucky for some, and being recognized by ChatGPT as renowned should be seen as positive. I must nevertheless admit that I am usually rather skeptical of AI as it is, after all, ‘artificial’. 😉

    Cathy

    June 5, 2024 at 7:20 AM

    • Thanks. As a math teacher I found 13 interesting in the way that the fractions 1/13, 2/13, … 12/13 get represented as two complementary sets of cyclical decimals.

      You do well in emphasizing the artificial in AI and therefore being skeptical. There’s much in the world to be skeptical about.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 5, 2024 at 7:42 AM

  14. Congratulations on 13 years of showing how beautiful and unique is our natural world.

    Looking forward to the next 13.

    By that time, perhaps we shall no longer need our innate and learned intelligence as, no doubt, AI will have been perfected.

    Wally Jones

    June 5, 2024 at 9:43 AM

    • I seriously doubt doubling my blog history, as that would put me past 90—by which time I don’t know what sort of intelligence, real or artificial, will be available to me.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 5, 2024 at 3:35 PM

  15. Congratulations on the blog anniversary!

    I’m pretty sure you are renowned as a nature photographer. At the very least, highly regarded and respected for your photography.

    Annie Leibovitz, though, you definitely are not.

    RobertKamper

    June 5, 2024 at 4:00 PM

    • Merci. I may also have some renown with the noun (and the verb, adjective, etc.) I’ve done portraits of a very few well-known people (e.g. Jorge Luís Borges), but Annie Leibovitz has me beat a thousandfold.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 5, 2024 at 6:58 PM

  16. Congrats! I like all the images. I recently took a short tutorial on how to distinguish the katydid from the crickets, etc., but also learned their other names in Spanish: ‘saltamontes longicornios’, ‘saltamontes hoja’ o ‘esperanzas’. Great image!

    Maria

    June 5, 2024 at 10:30 PM

    • Thanks in general and in particular.

      The Wikipedia article matches up with ‘saltamontes longicornios.’ “Insects in the family Tettigoniidae are commonly called katydids or bush crickets. They have previously been known as ‘long-horned grasshoppers.’ More than 8,000 species are known.” Tangentially, I remember learning a long time ago that the Aztec word for a grasshopper is chapul, as in Mexico City’s Chapultepec, literally Grasshopper Hill.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 6, 2024 at 6:15 AM

      • It’s Nahuatl and in singular is ‘chapolin’ and ‘chapolimeh’ in plural. It’s in the Sphenarium genus of grasshoppers in the family Pyrgomorphidae, native to Mexico and northern Central America.

        Maria

        June 6, 2024 at 9:43 AM

  17. Congratulations!; but I thought it had already been thirteen years. Maybe it was twelve years a year ago that I remember.

    tonytomeo

    June 6, 2024 at 12:16 AM

    • Thanks. Maybe you were thinking that last time it was a baker’s dozen rather than a regular dozen. Sometimes impressions get baked in.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 6, 2024 at 6:06 AM

  18. Congrats!! I think I’ve followed your photography for almost that long and enjoy your photos!

    norasphotos4u

    June 8, 2024 at 9:20 PM

  19. Beautiful images … how I love purple! Congratulations Steve!

    Julie@frogpondfarm

    June 11, 2024 at 2:49 PM


Leave a comment