Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Archive for August 26th, 2013

Paper wasps at their nest on a dry giant ragweed plant

with 30 comments

Paper Wasps at Nest on Dry Giant Ragweed 3196A

Click for greater size and clarity.

While walking the trail around the Riata Trace Pond in north Austin on July 30th, I came across some paper wasps at their nest on a dried-out giant ragweed plant, Ambrosia trifida. I took a couple of dozen pictures, and for the last group of them I zoomed in as close as my lens would let me. That closeness prompted one of the wasps to zoom out at me, which I took as a signal that it was time for me to leave. I left.

And now I leave it to you to see if you can say the phrase wasps’ nests quickly a dozen times without messing up. If you make it, try wasps’ nests’ wisps. Slow’s easy, but fast’s a stinger.

© 2013 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

August 26, 2013 at 6:08 AM