Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Bird on the Wire

with 7 comments

Of course I’m reminded of the opening lines of Leonard Cohen’s great song:

Like a bird on the wire,
Like a drunk in a midnight choir,
I have tried in my way to be free.

I’ve never been a drunk in a midnight choir, but some would say I’m drunk on photography. And while I photograph primarily plants, I have occasionally taken pictures of birds. To do good bird photography normally requires a long (and heavy) telephoto lens, a tripod, and lots of patience. Not my usual thing. Nevertheless, armed with a 200mm image-stabilized lens and 1.4x converter I marched forth several times this past fall to photograph the grackles (Quiscalus mexicanus) that were massing for weeks on power lines in certain parts of Austin as late afternoon gave way to evening each day.

The birds were dark, the sky was bright, and some high contrast processing led to what seems to be but isn’t a black and white image.

© 2011 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

June 6, 2011 at 1:17 PM

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This looks surreal – and my first thought was “Hitchcock”.

    sanetes

    June 12, 2011 at 2:16 PM

    • I hadn’t thought about that, but now that you mention it I can see it. Thanks for the connection.

      wordconnections

      June 12, 2011 at 2:26 PM

  2. This is my favorite photograph! Love it! Great job!

    rubyandwheaky

    August 6, 2011 at 9:11 AM

    • Thanks. I’m glad you like it so much. The picture is “out of season,” but when I started the blog a couple of months ago I was priming the pump so that early visitors would have a few things to look at.

      Steve Schwartzman

      August 6, 2011 at 9:26 AM

  3. Very Leonard!

    Gallivanta

    June 6, 2014 at 5:57 AM


Leave a comment