Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Rocks like wood

with 30 comments

Go ahead, tell me that the rocks in the upper center don’t look like wood. Tell me, and I won’t believe you.

We noticed these wood-like rocks by the side of the Trans-Canada Highway in Yoho National Park, British Columbia, after I pulled over on September 7th to photograph the overlapping mountains in smoke that you saw in the previous post.

© 2017 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

September 24, 2017 at 4:31 AM

30 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yup, looks like wood alright. Nice image.

    melissabluefineart

    September 24, 2017 at 6:59 AM

  2. Is it the rock or the plants causing that effect? Did you enhance the photo to bring out the colors?

    MichaelStephenWills

    September 24, 2017 at 7:12 AM

    • From what I can tell, the colors are those of the rocks themselves. As I typically do, I reduced the highlights and brought up the shadow details. I made no changes at all to the colors.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 24, 2017 at 9:38 AM

  3. Now that you mention wood, I can see it: especially petrified wood. At first, I saw streaks of sunlight. I’m not well-enough versed in geology to know for certain, but I think this spot might also be an example of what geologists call bedding and cleavage. It’s certainly distinctive, and nicely framed by the growth around it.

    shoreacres

    September 24, 2017 at 7:51 AM

    • Bedding and cleavage: aren’t we getting a bit racy for a nature photography blog?

      I’m glad the post you linked to comes from a geology teacher, so we can have faith that the information is correct. He mentioned Natural Bridge, which is what we were on our way to see when I noticed the smoky mountains and then the formation in today’s picture. Natural Bridge has layers of rock that have been turned vertical—something I’ve seen over the years—but are of a type I’ve never encountered anywhere else. They’ll eventually be the subject of another post.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 24, 2017 at 10:51 AM

  4. This really rocks!!

    Indira

    September 24, 2017 at 9:50 AM

  5. Reminds me of the wood that has become rock in the Petrified Forest.
    Have a great Sunday,
    Pit

    Pit

    September 24, 2017 at 11:04 AM

    • For whatever reason, I never thought of this as petrified wood, but always saw it as rocks that happen to look like wood. I may be the anomaly; you’re the second commenter to mention petrified wood.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 24, 2017 at 11:20 AM

  6. Those are beautiful rock formations and, yes, they do indeed look like wood.

    Val

    September 24, 2017 at 12:59 PM

  7. At first I thought of petrified wood also. But upon further reflection, I think it is a petrified wooden scallop shell.

    Steve Gingold

    September 25, 2017 at 5:07 PM

  8. Extraordinary strata. Yes, it does look like wood grain. I saw some stunning veining in rocks on my recent holiday in the European Alps, including a most unusual blue-grey.

    LensScaper

    September 27, 2017 at 2:25 AM

    • While I occasionally see rocks with patterns like those of the blue-grey ones you found in Switzerland, this wood-like section of rock is unique in my experience. I doubt I’d have noticed it at highway speed, but fortunately I’d pulled over for the “posterization” view.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 27, 2017 at 7:18 AM

  9. oh yes, the rocks personify wood! they are impressive and strong!

    Playamart - Zeebra Designs

    September 27, 2017 at 9:02 AM

    • You made me wonder whether there are any people with the family name Strongwood. When I searched, most of the initial hits were about the Strongwood Log Home Company in Wisconsin. From what I can tell, in that case Strongwood is not a family name but rather the way the company wants you to think of its log houses.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 27, 2017 at 9:39 AM

  10. You are absolutely right .. they sure do look like wood 🙂

    Julie@frogpondfarm

    September 27, 2017 at 1:39 PM


Leave a Reply

