Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

More of the world below

with 15 comments

More visual notes from the underground in New Mexico’s Carlsbad Caverns National Park on June 14th.

It took aeons for an inorganic process, dripping water, to deposit the minerals that built up these intricate formations. Nevertheless, don’t their tops remind you of the branching growth patterns seen in a living organism like broccoli?

© 2017 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

August 24, 2017 at 4:40 AM

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Such beautiful contrast. No broccoli for me, but I do see art nouveau trees, like this painting by Jan Mankes. My first impression? Waves on a shore, moving inward from the bottom of the image.

    shoreacres

    August 24, 2017 at 7:06 AM

    • Once again you’ve offered a change in perspective that leads to a different interpretation. I’d never have though of this image as looking down. With that change, I can certainly imagine waves.

      Jan Mankes is new to me. What a shame that he died of tuberculosis at age 30:

      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jan_Mankes

      Steve Schwartzman

      August 24, 2017 at 7:16 AM

  2. Ok this is seriously cool. So glad I didn’t have to go underground to see it!

    melissabluefineart

    August 24, 2017 at 8:13 AM

    • Seriously cool it is (especially compared to New Mexico in the summer, though that’s not how you meant ‘cool’).

      You’re the second commenter in two days who has mentioned not liking to be underground.

      Steve Schwartzman

      August 24, 2017 at 8:20 AM

  3. Very cool! I absolutely agree with Linda, and would add Frederick Hurten Rhead – before he designed Fiesta ware, he did a lot of nature-themed ceramics, and vases with stylized forests. (But my first thought was actually, the halls where the dwarves lived in Lord of the Rings) I went to Carlsbad Cavern when I was a kid, but your photos are telling me, time to get back there! 🙂

    Robert Parker Teel

    August 24, 2017 at 8:26 AM

    • So now I’ve added two artists in one morning. Here’s what I found out about Rhead:

      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frederick_Hurten_Rhead

      Yes, just as I drew a new appreciation of the place from my return visit after a couple of decades, I suspect you’d fare similarly well or even better, given your longer absence. I hope you make it back. If you time it right, you can also take in some good fall color at nearby Guadalupe Mountains National Park across the line in Texas.

      Steve Schwartzman

      August 24, 2017 at 8:40 AM

  4. Wonderful stalactites!! 👍

    Indira

    August 24, 2017 at 10:55 AM

  5. Wow – that’s so cool, Steve! Nice angle and composition.

    Sheila Creighton

    August 27, 2017 at 4:55 PM


Leave a Reply

