Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Racing the rain

with 13 comments

A little after 2:00 in the afternoon on June 6th we arrived at Garden of the Gods in Colorado Springs. The sky looked ominous, so we wasted no time in making the rounds of as many formations as we could. Gradually the sky grew more threatening, until eventually a few drops began to come down. We took those drops as a signal and headed back to our car before the real rain hit.

© 2017 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

July 8, 2017 at 4:56 AM

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I expect the rain was a welcome drop for the Gods.

    Gallivanta

    July 8, 2017 at 5:34 AM

    • You’ve prompted me to check the annual rainfall in Colorado Springs. I found it averages not quite 17 inches (42 cm), so you’re right about each raindrop being welcome there. The Rocky Mountains, which are within sight on the west side of the city, apparently block a lot of the rain.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 8, 2017 at 6:22 AM

      • Interesting. Our average rainfall in Christchurch is not a lot higher at just over 24 inches.

        Gallivanta

        July 8, 2017 at 6:37 AM

        • That surprises me, too. I’d have expected more in such a generally rainy country. Do you know whether the Southern Alps to the west of you limit the rain like the Rocky Mountains do in Colorado?

          Steve Schwartzman

          July 8, 2017 at 6:49 AM

          • I expect they do, because the west coast is often referred to as the wet coast.

            Gallivanta

            July 8, 2017 at 8:40 PM

            • Compared to the west coast, which is wet and relatively scarcely settled, the people on your side of the island must bake a lot more bread, thereby making the east coast the yeast coast.

              Steve Schwartzman

              July 9, 2017 at 8:13 AM

              • Ha! Well, without the wet from the west coming into our rivers, nothing much in the east would rise; bar the sun, of course.

                Gallivanta

                July 9, 2017 at 6:08 PM

  2. Neat shots, Steven. Love the clouds but I am glad you got out of the storm.

    Jane Lurie

    July 9, 2017 at 1:48 AM

    • Our timing was good, and a few hours later we had a second chance to visit Garden of the Gods, as the following post will reveal.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 9, 2017 at 7:40 AM

  3. It’s been fascinating to see the changes in the rocks as you’ve traveled from place to place. The first photo brought to mind a question I’ve never asked myself: why is the largest lake in Iowa — a lake that was created while I was in high school — called Red Rock Lake? Well, here’s the answer. I had no idea such a thing existed in Iowa, and that lake is in the county where my grandparents lived. I suppose that’s one indication of how much I wasn’t interested in nature or the outdoors when I was young.

    I like the juxtaposition of the dead branches with the clouds. They look as though they’re reaching up to snag the clouds as they pass by.

    shoreacres

    July 9, 2017 at 7:47 AM

    • After looking at the picture of the rocks in the photo you linked, my first thought was of the now-hidden formations that the lake must have covered. I expect some divers have seen them, but the color would quickly fall off beneath the water. A little searching led me to Elk Rock State Park on the banks of the lake. I did a little more searching but failed to turn up an explanation for the name “Elk Rock.” I’m wondering whether elk were once seen near a certain rock, or whether a rock was seen to look like an elk in the way that Camel Rock north of Santa Fe looks like a camel.

      In the second photograph, I like the way the characteristically colored rocks are barely visible, while the dark clouds and dead branches take up much of the image.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 9, 2017 at 8:10 AM

  4. I love these photos, especially those turbulent clouds.

    Lavinia Ross

    July 10, 2017 at 11:11 AM


Leave a Reply

