Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

New Zealand: Maruia Falls

with 20 comments

I’d never even heard of Maruia Falls till we got close on March 2nd and saw signs for it. This was the widest waterfall we encountered on the trip.

In preparing today’s post I did a little research and learned, to my surprise, that Maruia Falls goes back only to 1929, when it was just 1 meter high. To find out more, you can read the page at The Encyclopedia of New Zealand and then the one that comes up after you click the Next arrow on that page.

© 2017 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

June 8, 2017 at 4:40 AM

20 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. so pretty

    ksbeth

    June 8, 2017 at 5:04 AM

    • We were glad we followed the highway sign. Another sign, near the parking lot, said the best view of the falls was from below, so we followed the path it pointed to.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 8, 2017 at 7:43 AM

  2. A lovely spot, and the water looks crystal clear.

    Robert Parker Teel

    June 8, 2017 at 8:12 AM

  3. The view of the falls definitely shows how the entire area sloughed away, very similar to one landslide area near San Vicente, Ecuador. I look at that area every time I drive by and remind myself that just because one is ‘on top’ of a hill – does not make it a safe place! What was so strange was/is that everything stayed normal – all of the trees and brush remained standing; nothing died, the chunk of land just shifted much lower and left a big gap at the top while burying a farm shop/cattle feeding area at the bottom. There was no fringe benefit of an instant waterfall!

    • I’ve never experienced anything like what you’ve described about San Vicente, and that you’re reminded of so often. It is indeed strange that everything remained in place, just at a lower level. Sorry you didn’t get the fringe benefit of a waterfall, especially such a gorgeous one.

      In Austin we live near the top of a hill and are therefore safe from flash flooding of the creek down below, but I have to wonder about a fire starting in the woods and working its way uphill.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 8, 2017 at 9:23 AM

      • I’ll stop and take a few photos next time I go through that area.. Perhaps no one else notices, but it’s really a strange scene to me..
        When natural disasters hit close to home, we learn to be more proactive, or think ahead, what if…. now before staying in hotels/hostals, I peer skyward, and if the hotel has more than two stories, I think, ‘No. keep going.’

        • Yes, do take some pictures. We’ll have to reword the old proverb slightly: Once shaken, twice shy.

          Steve Schwartzman

          June 8, 2017 at 9:56 PM

  4. What caught my attention on the second page of the article about the falls was the rock in the left foreground. It has the same surface appearance as Te Hoho. I wonder if it’s the same sort of rock.

    It is a beautiful sight, and there’s a lot of water coursing over that cliff. Looking at the two largest trees about in the middle of the falls, it certainly seems as though the spray is visible.

    shoreacres

    June 8, 2017 at 8:03 PM

    • I noticed that spray, too. For once I was far enough away from a waterfall that its spray didn’t present a threat to my camera. Not so the one in Colorado Springs yesterday.

      As for geology, I wish I knew something about it. The American West could truthfully be renamed Geology.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 8, 2017 at 9:54 PM

  5. I love finding spots like these, NZ is full of them! Shine Falls just north of Napier was a beautiful fall I visited back last year and well worth the bumpy ride to get to it.

    Jess

    June 9, 2017 at 4:25 PM

    • I haven’t heard about that waterfall, but we saw plenty of others as we drove around the country. There were also many we drove past that didn’t have signs telling their names.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 9, 2017 at 11:13 PM

      • They’re the best kind of falls to discover, as you won’t find many others visiting them. I’ll definitely check out Maruia Falls next time I’m down in the South Island 🙂

        Jess

        June 10, 2017 at 1:03 AM

  6. Nice! Looks like you had a great time!

    Reed Andariese

    June 9, 2017 at 5:21 PM

  7. LOVE your photo! I live in Dunedin – its a very long time since I’ve been anywhere near Maruia Falls. Would love to go and see it again now I’ve seen your photo!

    exploringcolour

    June 12, 2017 at 8:55 PM

    • Go for it! We’d been in Dunedin just a few days earlier.

      I took other pictures that zoomed in on the falls. I decided to show this one that counterbalanced the falls and cliffs with the stones in the foreground.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 12, 2017 at 11:02 PM

  8. Wonderful image .. Dunedin, I didn’t know that 😀

    Julie@frogpondfarm

    June 16, 2017 at 2:59 PM

    • It’s actually much closer to Murchison than to Dunedin. Regardless of its location, it is indeed a wonderful place.

      Steve Schwartzman

      June 16, 2017 at 3:37 PM


Leave a Reply

