Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

New Zealand: kohurangi

with 13 comments

You can find old pictures of people with outstretched arms encircling the base of Tāne Mahuta but that’s no longer possible. Out of concern that the roots were getting trampled, the tree’s caretakers have planted vegetation around it to act as a shield (and also to restore native species to the area). Here in front of Tāne Mahuta you see the flowers of what the Māori call kohurangi and English speakers know as a tree daisy; botanists have yet another name, Brachyglottis kirkii.

© 2017 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

March 15, 2017 at 4:52 AM

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful!

    itsgoingtotakeayear

    March 15, 2017 at 4:54 AM

  2. And I don’t think I have ever seen the tree daisy. Very attractive.

    Gallivanta

    March 15, 2017 at 5:40 AM

    • I wouldn’t have known what it is, or even that it’s native, but I asked the Māori woman who was on duty there and she gave me the name kohurangi. Not till two days ago, back in Austin, did I look it up.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 15, 2017 at 9:02 AM

  3. Looks a bit like our wood aster (Eurybia divaricata)

    Heyjude

    March 15, 2017 at 1:57 PM

    • Actually that should be YOUR wood aster as it is apparently a native of eastern North America!

      Heyjude

      March 15, 2017 at 1:58 PM

      • I like your emendation. I’m not familiar with Eurybia divaricata, which doesn’t make it as far west as Texas, but we have similar-looking asters here. My original thought when I saw the tree aster in New Zealand was that it was most likely not native, given the sad reality that most of the flowers people see there are alien. The Māori woman on duty made me happy when she told me it’s a native species.

        Steve Schwartzman

        March 15, 2017 at 2:52 PM

  4. I can’t quite get my mind around the reason for the “glottis” in Brachyglottis. In any event, it’s a lovely plant. It looks like the yellow centers turn pink as they age, like some asters I’ve seen. I did think it was a little odd that the New Zealand site you linked has so many photos available only to members, but I suppose they have their reasons.

    shoreacres

    March 16, 2017 at 8:48 PM

    • I’ve long since learned that botanists have fanciful imaginations. I know glottis from linguistics but I’m happy to cede some territory to botanists. Like you, I’ve wondered why that NZ site (some pages of which I linked to two years ago) reserves so many enlargements for members only. It’s still a good source about this species, so I used it.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 16, 2017 at 8:55 PM


Leave a Reply

