Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Coyote bush with fluff flying

with 10 comments

coyote-bush-with-fluff-flying-9103

While walking a path through the wetlands of California’s Martinez Regional Shoreline on November 2nd of last year I saw this bush and even from a distance I figured I was looking at some sort of Baccharis. It turned out to be Baccharis pilularis, known as coyote bush, chaparral broom, and bush baccharis.

I’ve never neglected Austin’s species of this genus, Baccharis neglecta, as you can confirm by scrolling down the posts at this link.

© 2017 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

February 26, 2017 at 4:41 AM

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Miss Coffee Bean here…this is interesting. I don’t remember ever seeing this plant out there. It has a look of dry country to me which actually makes sense, now that I think about it. I always associated California with moisture but it is really pretty dry.

    melissabluefineart

    February 26, 2017 at 9:14 AM

    • Good point. The cloudforests are the exception in what is largely a dry region. That’s particularly apparent in the southern half of the state, which includes places like Joshua Tree and Death Valley.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 26, 2017 at 12:24 PM

  2. ATISHOO! But very pretty.

    Gallivanta

    February 27, 2017 at 6:16 AM

  3. I think I would have needed a second look. The mounded-up heaps of fluff reminded me at first of large stands of Clematis drummondii, and the plant doesn’t seem as willowy as B. neglecta. On closer inspection, I saw the charming little tufts that appear to be typical across species. I was surprised to read that there are around 400 species of Baccharis.

    shoreacres

    February 27, 2017 at 6:40 AM

    • Wow: I didn’t realize there are around 400 species of Baccharis. Nature definitely hasn’t neglected the genus, much to my (I hope future) delight.

      I sometimes mentally blend Baccharis and Clematis, but then I remember the tufts that are the hallmark of Baccharis and that Clematis lacks. In this case my instinct immediately said Baccharis and never faltered.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 27, 2017 at 12:15 PM


Leave a Reply

