Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Skull rock again

with 11 comments

For some unknown reason the e-mail version of the Skull Rock post didn’t go out this morning, so I resent the post and succeeded the second time.

skull-rock-1279

A popular formation at Joshua Tree National Park is Skull Rock. This photograph from November 5th, 2016, shows you the pareidolic reason the boulder is called what it is.

© 2017 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

February 4, 2017 at 6:03 AM

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Perhaps that’s the monster that ate your post’s email notifications. I didn’t get one for the re-post either. I went into the Reader and found several posts I’ve not received emails for, so I had a chat with WP support to make sure they knew about the problem. They said there had been reports of significant lags in emails going out, and they’re working on it.

    In any event, I’m glad I found this. it’s a great formation, and I really like the way “he” seems to be peering out through the bushes.

    shoreacres

    February 4, 2017 at 9:19 AM

    • Oh, I imagined that when I got my email version of the repost, everyone else did too. I looked on the WordPress forums but didn’t see a current thread about missing emails.

      As for Skull Rock, Joshua Tree was so crowded that I had to stake out a spot and wait till no other visitor was visible in my pictures. It took a while for that to happen.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 4, 2017 at 1:20 PM

      • I tried waiting for a human-less moment to photograph the outside of Thorncrown Chapel, but it wasn’t going to happen. And inside? Even when there was no one else around, the woman in charge kept hissing, “Sit DOWN!” So, left.

        shoreacres

        February 4, 2017 at 1:34 PM

        • I’m sorry to hear about your Thorncrown experience. From comments you’ve made about future travels to the prairie and your fondness for Crystal Bridges, perhaps you’ll venture to the chapel again (preferably with fall foliage).

          Steve Schwartzman

          February 4, 2017 at 1:43 PM

  2. What an interesting formation. I’d be afraid to go there at night! 😉
    Have a great weekend,
    Pit

    Pit

    February 4, 2017 at 10:36 AM

  3. Glad you posted this again… great photo worth the wait! It reminded me of a photo taken in Nicaragua at Playa Rosada.. I asked friend who lived there if others had noted the skull, and he was unaware of it until I sent the photo…

    z

    Playamart - Zeebra Designs

    February 4, 2017 at 11:44 PM

    • Perceptive you. We’re a pair of participants in the pareidolia partnership. I like your broad vista.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 5, 2017 at 5:23 AM


Leave a Reply

