Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Duncan’s Cove

with 22 comments

duncans-cove-pacific-coastscape-7438

After visiting a wet Armstrong Redwoods State Natural Reserve on October 27th last year, we drove over to get a look at the Pacific Ocean. The hazy view shown here greeted us in the Duncan’s Cove section of Sonoma Coast State Park. Looking lower and much less far away, I noticed some grass that had dried out but now had raindrops on it. Getting down at its level, I made this impressionistic picture of the wet grass:

raindrops-on-otherwise-dry-grass-7451

“Impressionistic” doubles as a self-serving way of saying there was so little light I couldn’t get much in focus at such a close distance.

© 2017 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

January 26, 2017 at 4:16 AM

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Just gorgeous photos everyday, Steven!

    Marilyn L. Moll

    January 26, 2017 at 7:51 AM

  2. Of course I love the scene of the ocean, but the one of the grass is beautiful.

    melissabluefineart

    January 26, 2017 at 8:20 AM

  3. I have been struck for weeks with the striking composition of your photos. I don’t know how to say more.

    kackymuse

    January 26, 2017 at 10:55 AM

    • Thanks, Kathryn, for appreciating the composition of these photographs. There’s no need to say more than you just did.

      Steve Schwartzman

      January 26, 2017 at 11:02 AM

  4. The fact that there is so much out of focus is the reason why I find this to be a terrific composition.

    oneowner

    January 26, 2017 at 12:16 PM

    • I normally prefer to have a lot in focus. That wasn’t going to happen here, so I got some key elements sharp and let the rest do whatever they would do. Those out-of-focus elements became the majority and set the overall mood of the image. I’m glad you’re fond of it.

      Steve Schwartzman

      January 26, 2017 at 2:26 PM

  5. Just excellent.

    maverickonthemove

    January 27, 2017 at 5:06 AM

  6. I especially like the way the smaller rocks fill the frame. There’s just enough rockiness to emphasize the fogginess. It’s an enticing view.

    The background colors add a good bit to the second photo, too. It seems to add to the clarity of the drops. My mother had a favorite brooch made up of colored rhinestones that looked much like this. Your photo reminded me of it, and since I still have it, I pulled it out for a look. The similarity’s obvious.

    This image also reminds me of that foggy morning atop the Ouachita mountains, when I resorted to my macro lens because of fog. I still haven’t posted the best gulf muhly photos from that morning. Now that I have a more photo-friendly template, I will.

    shoreacres

    January 27, 2017 at 8:39 AM

    • Good: I look forward to your macro take on fog and muhly in the Ouachita Mountains. (I remember that range not for fog but for fall foliage.)

      Like you, I’m fond of the background colors in the second picture. I take pleasure in all the orbs of light, too, which are artifacts of the optics of photography. For lack of a personal association, though, I wouldn’t ever have seen them as rhinestones.

      Steve Schwartzman

      January 27, 2017 at 8:57 AM

  7. Wonderful pictures!

    hikeminded

    January 28, 2017 at 9:07 AM

  8. My goal with nearly every shot I take is not to capture what *is* so much as how I *experience* it. Impressionism of this sort is 100% legitimate, in my book. AND an exquisite photograph, to boot. Such jeweled delicacy is irresistible! Love it.
    K

    kathryningrid

    January 29, 2017 at 9:56 PM

    • Thanks for validating—and enthusiastically!—the impressionism in the second photograph. Your “experience” and my “experiment” are closely related words.

      Steve Schwartzman

      January 30, 2017 at 5:47 AM

  9. The smaller rocks certainly add to the view … but that second shot is amazing! 😃

    Julie@frogpondfarm

    January 30, 2017 at 1:13 AM


Leave a Reply

