Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Guadalupe Mountains National Park

with 21 comments

guadalupe-peak-2895

This past November 9th was the next-to-the-last day of our great Southwest trip. Late in the afternoon we approached Guadalupe Mountains National Park, which I have the impression few people have heard of (in contrast to Texas’s only other national park, the well-known Big Bend). The greatest elevation in this park is atop Guadalupe Peak, which at an altitude of about 8750 feet (2667m) makes it the highest point in Texas. The National Park Service bills the Guadalupe Mountains as “the world’s premier example of a fossil reef from the Permian Era.”

Above is El Capitán, while below is a view off to the west.

mountains-west-of-guadalupe-peak-2906

© 2017 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

January 12, 2017 at 4:41 AM

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What a beauty. And I love colors in second picture.

    beachbooksblog

    January 12, 2017 at 6:55 AM

    • You’ll be seeing a more intense version of those colors in a follow-up post.

      As someone who loves the sea, you’ll be interested to know that these mountains were once an underwater reef. Texas used to be under a shallow part of the ocean.

      Steve Schwartzman

      January 12, 2017 at 7:32 AM

  2. Amazing mountain landscape.

    rabirius

    January 12, 2017 at 11:47 AM

    • West Texas has mountains and deserts, both of which attract nature photographers.

      Steve Schwartzman

      January 12, 2017 at 11:51 AM

      • Yes. I can imagine. I’m sure I’d love the landscape there.

        rabirius

        January 12, 2017 at 12:44 PM

        • Your list of regions doesn’t yet include the United States. I hope you’ll be able to visit here before too long.

          Steve Schwartzman

          January 12, 2017 at 1:14 PM

          • Well. I’ve been to the US – but was still on analogue camera. I think I scanned one of the pictures – but one is not enough for a region tap. (I want to post at least 3 pictures for that. )

            rabirius

            January 12, 2017 at 1:19 PM

  3. Incredible. Breathtaking.

    Travis Deaton

    January 12, 2017 at 3:25 PM

  4. […] long after we’d left El Capitán and the sumacs behind us on November 9th last year, I glimpsed colors in my rear-view mirror that […]

  5. This is slightly embarassing, but true. I had to find the location of the park on a map. Imagine how surprised I was to find I’d been in the neighborhood when I visited Carlsbad many years ago. Of course I’ve heard of El Capitán, and probably have seen photos of it, but these stir my traveling juices. I’m hardly literate when it comes to reading the geologic landscape, but I’m increasingly fascinated.

    shoreacres

    January 14, 2017 at 6:48 AM

    • You offer anecdotal evidence for my conjecture that Guadalupe Mountains remains among the least known of our national parks. I suspect the El Capitán you’ve heard of isn’t this one but rather the one in the much more famous and much more visited Yosemite. The many rock formations I saw in the Southwest—which to my mind includes Trans-Pecos Texas—made me wish I knew more about geology too.

      Steve Schwartzman

      January 14, 2017 at 6:59 AM

  6. Both are amazing .. ah nature! Love the colours and depth of the second pic ..

    Julie@frogpondfarm

    January 15, 2017 at 12:38 AM

  7. A fossil reef~how cool is that?

    melissabluefineart

    January 28, 2017 at 12:13 PM


Leave a Reply

