Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Barely out of Kanab again

with 12 comments

kanab-fall-landscape-4993

The second and last morning (October 23rd) that we drove north from Kanab (Utah), we’d again barely gotten out of the town when I stopped on Highway 89, this time to explore a bit on the east side of the road where the subtle (and in the case of the prominent yellow tree not at all subtle) colors of fall were on display.

© 2016 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

December 20, 2016 at 4:58 AM

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The muted colors remind me of the leafless aspens at Kolob. But while that image felt static, this one feels alive, and full of movement. The softly folded hills, the scudding clouds, the leaning tree at the left all contribute to my sense that the landscape as a whole is moving, like a river. I suppose that makes the yellow tree a beautiful bit of flotsam: a neat way of seeing it as a part of the larger image, and not the whole show.

    shoreacres

    December 20, 2016 at 7:44 AM

    • Interesting that you should mention Kolob, because this was the same day on which we saw the bare aspens there that afternoon. In between, the clouds cleared and lightened to varying degrees but by the time we reached the Kolob Reservoir the sky again looked the way you see it in this picture from the morning.

      As you pointed out, the yellow tree ended up as a bright ornament in an otherwise subtle scene. It’s not that I wouldn’t have gone over to try to do more with the yellow tree in its own right, but a creek lay between me and it and there was no obvious way to get over to the other side.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 20, 2016 at 8:34 AM

  2. Steven: Glad you stopped for this shot. If I may, “scrub country,” has an attraction all its own.

    elmdriveimages

    December 20, 2016 at 7:45 AM

    • Good point: “Slow down and smell the roses” could become “Slow down and appreciate the scrub.”

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 20, 2016 at 8:36 AM

  3. I like how you positioned your not subtle yellow tree~it serves as a perfect pivot point. I, too, have always been attracted to scrubland.
    By the way, WordPress has entirely stopped delivering posts to my email. Have you heard of anyone else having this problem? So I have re-subscribed.

    melissabluefineart

    December 20, 2016 at 8:26 AM

    • I’m glad you like the position of the yellow tree to describe it alliteratively as a perfect pivot point.

      Much of southern Texas from San Antonio down to the border is described as scrub brush. It’s not an area where I’ve worked photographically, but I’ll bet it has its subtle charms as well.

      I’m sorry to hear about WordPress messing up your e-mails. A couple of times people have complained to me about that, but not recently. Let’s hope resubscribing does the trick.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 20, 2016 at 8:50 AM

      • It hasn’t. Interesting. No matter~I can still track your posts down via my reader.

        melissabluefineart

        December 21, 2016 at 8:14 AM

        • Have you checked all the spam and junk mail folders in your e-mail program to make sure the e-mails aren’t ending up there? If you have other e-mail addresses, you could try subscribing with one of those.

          If all else fails, at least the WordPress reader is still working.

          Steve Schwartzman

          December 21, 2016 at 9:31 AM

          • I have, yes. When I bought my new computer they told me not to install Adobe Flash, and I find that that is limiting what I can access. Could that be it?

            melissabluefineart

            December 22, 2016 at 7:47 AM

            • I wouldn’t think so. My impression is that Flash works inside your Internet browser and wouldn’t affect e-mails. On the other hand, I don’t know a lot about such things, and over the years I’ve encountered my share of strange software interactions.

              Steve Schwartzman

              December 22, 2016 at 7:59 AM

  4. This color palette is amazing. So beautiful, I can swim with my eyes from one side to the other and up and down, and really enjoy tonalities. Without that yellow happy tree it wouldn’t be the same, that’s true.

    beachbooksblog

    December 20, 2016 at 11:03 AM

    • I was hoping to find some bright fall foliage, and we did find some like the yellow tree, but it’s predominantly the subtler and more dispersed orange tonalities of the bushes, as you pointed out, that lead me to find this scene so appealing. I’m glad it resonates with you as well. Happy swimming with your eyes.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 20, 2016 at 11:40 AM


Leave a Reply

