Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Beginning to be bedraggled

with 16 comments

sensitive-briar-flower-globe-decomposing-1351a

Over the years I’ve photographed pristine flower globes of Mimosa roemeriana, the sensitive briar. On October 7th in my neighborhood I photographed a little pink globe of that kind but also the more bedraggled one you see here. The chaos is visually appealing, don’t you think?

© 2016 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

November 13, 2016 at 4:44 AM

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very appealing but it does remind me of my hair style first thing in the morning ~ a hair style I find hilarious, rather than appealing. For some my hair would be just plain frightful.

    Gallivanta

    November 13, 2016 at 5:35 AM

    • Your morning chevelure provides no great allure?

      Steve Schwartzman

      November 13, 2016 at 7:39 AM

      • And my hair is really on end after the big earthquake just after midnight!!!! It was hair raising. All well, though.

        Gallivanta

        November 13, 2016 at 6:59 PM

        • Who’d have predicted that the “frightful” in your first comment would so soon come true? We’re glad to hear you’re okay.

          Steve Schwartzman

          November 13, 2016 at 11:06 PM

          • Indeed. I should be more careful with my words. Have you seen any of the photos of the damage to the landscape around Kaikoura? Dramatic.

            Gallivanta

            November 13, 2016 at 11:35 PM

            • At your prompting, I looked at some photos just now. One shows damage to shops in Picton. A few days after we left Christchurch last year we reserved a night at a hotel in Blenheim. After we checked in late in the afternoon, we took advantage of the remaining daylight and drove partway down the coast toward Kaikoura, but made it only as far as Kekerengu, about half way to Kaikoura, before turning back toward Blenheim.

              Steve Schwartzman

              November 14, 2016 at 8:33 AM

              • I have clear memories of a lovely drive down the coast, having chosen, for a change, the route that passes inland, just to the west of the seaward Kaikoura Range. One of the big slips that partially filled one of the valleys was right there, and I think I recognize the spot. How very lucky that more people weren’t injured!

                krikitarts

                November 20, 2016 at 9:13 AM

                • Right: considering the magnitude of the earthquake, the damage to people and property could have been much worse.

                  Steve Schwartzman

                  November 20, 2016 at 9:47 AM

  2. Indeed, it is beautiful, Steve. Very nice image! It still amazes me how even at life’s end some blooms take on a different form, and yet still hold their beauty and awe.

    Pete Hillman

    November 13, 2016 at 6:13 AM

    • Some species fade, dry out, come apart, wither, collapse, etc., in distinctive ways that I, like you, find quite appealing. I wish field guides showed not only the pristine stages of species but also the later ones, which often last longer and are therefore the ones we more often see.

      Steve Schwartzman

      November 13, 2016 at 7:45 AM

  3. It’s especially nice that the whole range of stamens still is present: from fresh, pink ones, to those faded and colorless, to the already browning. I like the thread-like appearance, but I’m certainly glad I don’t have to untangle them.

    It looks to me as though Gallivanta posted her comment just a few hours before the earthquake hit. I’m presuming she’s out of range of tsunamis. I image there are a lot of people with their hair standing on end at this point.

    shoreacres

    November 13, 2016 at 8:46 AM

    • Oh, I hadn’t heard anything about the latest earthquake in New Zealand until you mentioned it. Gallivanta lives in Christchurch but not near the coast, so tsunamis aren’t a threat to her, but her house could have sustained some damage from the quake itself and the aftershocks. I just e-mailed her but she may have lost electricity or her Internet access.

      As for the sensitive briar, I agree that the mixture of stamens in different conditions makes for a good image, one that contrasts with my usual portrayal of a fresh flower globe.

      Steve Schwartzman

      November 13, 2016 at 10:58 AM

  4. yes, fantastic photo, Steve, but I like all your photos

    taphian

    November 13, 2016 at 11:24 AM

  5. A close crop of this would make a fantastic jigsaw puzzle!

    krikitarts

    November 20, 2016 at 9:14 AM


Leave a Reply

