Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Another kind of sumpweed

with 11 comments

annual-sumpweed-in-densely-flowering-broomweed-0933

Do you remember the picture of narrowleaf sumpweed from a few weeks ago? We have a second species of Iva in central Texas, Iva annua, known as annual sumpweed. On September 28th I found some growing in a hollow in a dense mound of broomweed, Amphiachyris dracunculoides. The location was along a new street called Wildhorse Ranch Trail in Manor. All the land there is getting developed, but in the meantime I’ve visited several times and taken lots of pictures.

Now you can say to your friends: “I’ve a picture of Iva.”

© 2106 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

October 27, 2016 at 5:06 AM

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. And it’s sumptuous.

    shoreacres

    October 27, 2016 at 5:57 AM

  2. I’ve a hunch she is an annual allergen…

    melissabluefineart

    October 27, 2016 at 7:02 AM

  3. Hi Steve
    I’m thrilled. Now I know I’m not the only one taking pictures of sumpweed. But up here in Michigan, we’re more delicate, and call it marsh-elder.

    Bob

    Robert W Smith

    October 27, 2016 at 9:38 AM

    • You know how it goes: one man’s weed is another man’s something that sounds more flattering. I’m glad indeed to meet someone else who finds sumpweed appealing.

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 27, 2016 at 11:14 AM

  4. Don’t know why, but you made me think…or sing…”I’ve a picture of Iva…in the kitchen with Dinah”

    That broomweed got my attention..

    Steve Gingold

    October 31, 2016 at 2:53 PM

    • The broomweed’s an attention-getter, all right. You’d have fun with it.

      Maybe you’ll teach a mynah
      To sing your song about Dinah.

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 31, 2016 at 11:54 PM

  5. I love how the broomweed forms a backdrop that actually showcases the form of the individual Iva! Prior to this post, I would have said that Iva annua was not a plant that could be photographed to get a pleasing picture – you just changed my mind about that!

    Cynthia, aka Gaia gardener

    October 31, 2016 at 6:09 PM

    • Now that’s the kind of mind-changing I’m happy to foster. Combinations of native plants have attracted me for years now; fortunately I keep finding new ones.

      I’ve often paid the pollen price for pictures of Iva when it’s flowering.

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 31, 2016 at 11:58 PM


Leave a Reply

