Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Two ways of being wispy

with 14 comments

poverty-weed-flowering-1002

Alongside a convenience store at the intersection of FM 306 and Star Grass Dr. in Comal County on September 29th I photographed some flowering poverty weed, Baccharis neglecta, against that morning’s layers of wispy clouds. Throughout the day, as I drove through the Texas Hill Country on what turned out to be a 230-mile journey, I saw lots of these delicate trees looking similarly fluffy in their flowering and often swarmed by insects.

© 2016 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

October 12, 2016 at 11:19 PM

14 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. usually u give pictures and now more words!!!

    elyaslinley

    October 12, 2016 at 11:28 PM

  2. There’s no poverty here in wisps or weed.

    Gallivanta

    October 13, 2016 at 4:40 AM

  3. […] previous post showed a landscape view of the supple-branched little tree called poverty weed, Baccharis neglecta. This closeup from the […]

  4. Nice to see you concentrating your will on the wisp.

    krikitarts

    October 13, 2016 at 8:39 AM

  5. The scientific name of this one always makes me laugh. I can’t help wondering if someone neglected to clean up after a particularly jovial bacchanal. There was a good bit of it, budding but not yet in flower, in the area south and west of Texarkana. It was especially heavy around the Neches river — which I’d never before seen. It’s pretty country up there, and would be worth a return trip to see more of the river, along with the dams and lakes.

    shoreacres

    October 13, 2016 at 7:39 PM

    • It seems Texarkana is farther north enough for poverty weed to bloom a little later than in the Austin area. What was the status on the coast when you left?

      I’ve never come across an explanation of why this species is “neglected,” compared to any of the other species of Baccharis.

      Sounds like the Neches is definitely on your to-do list.

      Steve Schwartzman

      October 13, 2016 at 8:02 PM

      • I can’t say, about the coast. The last two or three weeks before I left, I was spending most of my time in the boatyards, trying to finish up some jobs, and didn’t even manage to get out to Armand Bayou to see how the Maximilians were coming along.

        I’ll say this: the goldenrod gives every indication it’s trying to take over the state of Arkansas. I can’t even describe it. The plant is everywhere. I’ve located some huge stands that I’ll try and photograph if the sun ever comes out.

        shoreacres

        October 13, 2016 at 8:10 PM

        • I’m glad to hear about those huge stands of goldenrod. With that much bounty, I expect you’ll get some worthy pictures. Good luck.

          Steve Schwartzman

          October 13, 2016 at 11:19 PM


Leave a Reply

