Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Speaking of prairie agalinis…

with 19 comments

prairie-agalinis-flower-by-others-0437

Speaking of prairie agalinis (Agalinis heterophylla), as I did briefly last time, here’s a view of that wildflower in its own right along the upper stretch of Bull Creek on September 12th. The pink cloud is an out-of-focus vision of more prairie agalinis flowers in the background.

© 2016 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

September 23, 2016 at 5:10 AM

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Fringed, spotted, and striped: all in one pretty little flower. There was a nice, even sprinkling of these on the prairie yesterday, but I didn’t notice the spots on the outside that are so clear in this image. The clarity’s due partly to the macro lens,of course, but photographer flexibility had to play a role, too. The agalinis I saw were fairly close to the ground; I’m gaining appreciation for what shooting upward sometimes involves.

    I really like the interplay of sunlight and shadow on the greenery. Combined with the pink cloud, it makes the entire image interesting.

    shoreacres

    September 23, 2016 at 6:08 AM

    • The low-down is to go down to look up. The backlight is a spotlight on the spots. Not light is my back as I lug a laden camera bag. The sunlight is a fun light.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 23, 2016 at 6:34 AM

  2. This is a very nice image, Steve. We had a good year for Agalinis here, with veritable pink clouds along the Dead River Trail. I’m glad you are getting them there as well.

    melissabluefineart

    September 23, 2016 at 7:11 AM

    • You know me with abstractions, Melissa.

      I see from the USDA map that Agalinis heterophylla doesn’t make it farther north than Missouri, but I’m glad to hear you have a species of Agalinis in Illinois. Down here ours is a mainstay of late summer and autumn.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 23, 2016 at 7:46 AM

      • Yup, I could not remember the species of ours off hand. We have 3 in my county but one is predominant in the soggy places I like to spend time in.

        melissabluefineart

        September 23, 2016 at 9:58 AM

        • There’s another Agalinis species in central Texas, too, but it’s much less common than A. heterophylla and grows in the hills on the Edwards Plateau west of Austin.

          Steve Schwartzman

          September 23, 2016 at 10:13 AM

  3. So lovely, and the effect of the light is gorgeous.

    Susan Scheid

    September 23, 2016 at 3:23 PM

  4. Lots of Schwartzman-technique used here … to excellent advantage and with a very excellent result.

    Pairodox Farm

    September 23, 2016 at 5:29 PM

  5. really stunning.

    sedge808

    September 23, 2016 at 10:49 PM

  6. Hey Steve .. The detail is stunning. As is your photography .. Where is that list of yours 😃

    Julie@frogpondfarm

    September 24, 2016 at 1:57 AM

  7. […] the same September 12th outing along the upper reaches of Bull Creek that brought you the previous picture of prairie agalinis I noticed that some frostweed plants (Verbesina virginica) had begun flowering. My focus in this […]

  8. I like the contrast between the sharp focus and the out of focus If I were a prairie agalinis looking in the mirror, all I would see in the mirror would be a blur like that.

    Gallivanta

    September 25, 2016 at 5:54 AM

    • I, too, like the contrast here between what’s in focus and what’s so far out of focus as to preserve no details at all. I don’t believe I’d ever taken a prairie agalinis photograph like that before.

      I hope not all your mirror-looking returns a blur.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 25, 2016 at 7:54 AM


Leave a Reply

