Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Sometimes the blue that’s violet or purple is white

with 9 comments

White Bluebell Flowers 0892

Speaking of bluebells (Eustoma exaltatum ssp. russellianum), which my eyes and brain see as violet or purple, I’ll add that occasionally the flowers are mostly white. That’s obviously the case in this view from July 16 on the Blackland Prairie in far northeast Austin. Note the faint traces of the normal color rising into the petals’ whiteness.

© 2016 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

August 11, 2016 at 5:19 AM

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There are always some who like to stand out from the crowd.

    Gallivanta

    August 11, 2016 at 5:45 AM

  2. I’ve seen this often with blue or violet flowers…sometimes pink as well. Our spiderwort, which is mostly blue, often appears white as the pigment is a bit less obvious:

    https://sggphoto.wordpress.com/2014/06/29/06-29-2014-virginia-spiderwort-the-pale/

    Steve Gingold

    August 11, 2016 at 6:18 AM

    • I remember that picture. I see that I wrote at the time: “I’m with you in treasuring the white variants. They’re not common in the spiderwort species we have in Austin, but I have occasionally seen some. In fact many flowers that are primarily purple seem to have white variants, and although I don’t know why that should be so, I’m glad that it is.” I still am.

      Steve Schwartzman

      August 11, 2016 at 6:51 AM

  3. The blush of pink creeping up the petals is just right. Descriptions of blushing brides nearly have disappeared from the society pages, and I haven’t heard anyone refer to having blushed with embarassment for years, so we may have to depend on our flowers to keep “blush” alive. The color match between the pistil and the tendrilly buds is especially nice.

    shoreacres

    August 11, 2016 at 6:55 AM

    • On first blush, I’d say you’ve hit on a subject for a post on your blog: the decline of blushing in modern American society. You’ve reminded me of a slogan that became popular in the 1970s, one that marks a transition from blushing to brazen: “If it feels good, do it.”

      Steve Schwartzman

      August 11, 2016 at 7:27 AM

    • I like the idea of basing a blog on beginning to boldly bring back the beneficial blush!

      krikitarts

      August 14, 2016 at 9:27 AM

      • You’ve got your subject for a post: we’ll look forward to seeing what you write on that topic.

        Steve Schwartzman

        August 14, 2016 at 9:38 AM

  4. […] previous post’s white bluebells were growing behind a subdivision on a strip of land that I knew tended to collect water in several […]


Leave a Reply

