Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Prairie meets bog

with 37 comments

Prairie Smoke Buds 7186

One of the first native plants we encountered when Melissa took us to the Volo Bog on June 7th was Geum triflorum, known as prairie smoke. Here you see a few buds. From what I’ve read online, the flowers of this species occur in threes. From what I’ve seen with my own eyes, the flowers of Geum triflorum are quite different from those of the Geum canadense that grows in Austin.

© 2016 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

July 17, 2016 at 5:29 AM

37 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Very pretty.

    Gallivanta

    July 17, 2016 at 5:41 AM

  2. Great image, Steve. All the little hairs and the texture. Well done!

    elmdriveimages

    July 17, 2016 at 6:29 AM

  3. Really lovely.

    Sherry Felix

    July 17, 2016 at 7:01 AM

  4. Wonderful detail and colour.

  5. I’ll add my voice to the chorus, Steve. This is a very nice image.

    melissabluefineart

    July 17, 2016 at 9:17 AM

    • It’s good to hear that the singers are all in tune. I’d heard of prairie smoke but had never seen it, so naturally I jumped at (or actually knelt at) the chance.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 17, 2016 at 9:52 AM

  6. beautiful plant and photo.

    taphian

    July 17, 2016 at 10:35 AM

    • Thanks. I wish I’d been able to see the flowers at their peak.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 17, 2016 at 10:41 AM

      • we have them in our garden at the little pond, too. They are beautiful.
        Hope next year you can see them at their peak.

        taphian

        July 17, 2016 at 11:00 AM

        • These flowers aren’t native anywhere near Austin, so unless I travel a good distance (as I did to Illinois), I’m not likely to see any.

          Steve Schwartzman

          July 17, 2016 at 11:07 AM

  7. Very beautiful Steve! So simple and so elegant. The pink combined with the green is a winner combination:)
    Inger

    Inger

    July 17, 2016 at 1:45 PM

  8. Very beautiful.

    Roland Theys

    July 17, 2016 at 3:17 PM

  9. stunning

    sedge808

    July 17, 2016 at 9:02 PM

  10. Fantastic shot and what a beautiful flower.

    Beautywhizz

    July 18, 2016 at 4:19 PM

  11. Nice. Different is good, no?

    Steve Gingold

    July 18, 2016 at 4:39 PM

  12. I saw prairie smoke on Sunday, but it was brown and gray, and wafting into the sky. These are much lovelier. The leaves are eye-catching, too. They remind me of staghorn fern. The Missouri Botanical Garden page mentions another name for this one: old man’s whiskers. I’m catching up, so I don’t know what lies ahead, but I have my fingers crossed that you got to see some of these in that latter stage.

    shoreacres

    July 20, 2016 at 6:01 AM

    • As you’ve probably found out by now from the follow-up post, I did get to see a bit of the “smoke” that these plants produce. In that next post I also mentioned the “old man’s whiskers” name that’s so close to the “old man’s beard” of Clematis drummondii. There are good bunches of the latter in at least two places in Great Hills Park, so for the better part of each year I’m no more than about half a mile away from floral plumage. Unfortunately, one of the biggest mounds of it that I knew about, the one on the prairie shown at

      https://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2015/09/08/a-formidable-mound-of-clematis-drummondii/

      was lost to construction this spring, as you recently read at

      https://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2016/06/22/loss/

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 20, 2016 at 6:20 AM

      • Just down the street from me, a wonderful, large section of land filled with trees — a block long, and extending far back to a bayou — recently disappeared over night. I’d seen some activity on Saturday: a few pieces of equipment, some trimming, what appeared to be a short gravel road. Sunday morning? There was nothing. They’d come in under cover of darkness, bulldozed the trees, scraped the ground, put up a fence. There was nothing left but a few huge mulch piles. The trees already had been shredded.

        One of my readers nagged city hall until she found the explanation: a new assisted living facility. Well, I have a certain sympathy for old people, but two huge “luxury adult living” complexes have gone up in the past year, less than a mile away. I’ll spare you my commentary on changes in the social order, and just acknowledge how shocking it can be to see land transformed in that way.

        shoreacres

        July 23, 2016 at 8:34 AM

        • I’m sorry to hear about your loss of that property. I’m also unfortunately not surprised, given my experiences in Austin and the fact that Texas remains among the fastest-growing states.

          I’ve thought about approaching the owners/managers of the various facilities that have covered tracts in nature where I’ve worked, and asking if they’d like to buy photographs to put up in their buildings showing how things once looked in those very places.

          Steve Schwartzman

          July 23, 2016 at 8:43 AM

  13. The stand out elements for me are all those tiny hairs, the shade of pink and the way it droops down to look a little like a lampshade or decoration. You’re in fine form, Steve. 🙂

    Jane

    July 21, 2016 at 10:16 PM


Leave a Reply

