Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

A couple of other wildflowers in Missouri that were new to me

with 18 comments

Goat's Rue Flowering 6670

From the Diamond Grove Prairie southeast of Joplin, Missouri, that I visited on June 4, here are two more native wildflowers. The first is Tephrosia virginiana, known as goat’s rue. The second is Orbexilum pedunculatum, called Sampson’s snakeroot. You can see that both are in the legume family.

_MG_6648

Thanks again to Scott Lenharth for taking us to this prairie and for identifying the plants there.

© 2016 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

July 3, 2016 at 5:09 AM

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. New to me too. Nice ones.

    Sherry Felix

    July 3, 2016 at 5:17 AM

  2. Always fun to find “new” plants. Beautiful colours on the goat’s rue. Great detail in the shot.

    Sally

    July 3, 2016 at 9:47 AM

    • The red on the goat’s rue attracted me too. Scott was pleased with the photographs’ details, for which I once again give credit to my camera equipment.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 3, 2016 at 11:19 AM

  3. Great new finds.

    Beautywhizz

    July 3, 2016 at 1:20 PM

    • Yes, and there were others. There would have been even more if we’d not had hundreds of miles to drive that afternoon.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 3, 2016 at 1:21 PM

  4. I’d imagine there were many, just as there would be for me were I to visit Austin.

    Steve Gingold

    July 3, 2016 at 4:05 PM

    • Yes indeed. In Austin you’d find dozens and dozens of native species that would be new to you. I could even tell you what most of them are.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 3, 2016 at 4:53 PM

  5. Nice images Steve ..

    Julie@frogpondfarm

    July 4, 2016 at 1:07 AM

  6. I wonder what the goats rue? I see there was an evergreen European plant called rue that had bitter leaves — since this plant once was fed to goats to increase milk production, perhaps they rued that same bitter taste.
    Even though they’re a different genus, both plants initially reminded me of Indian paintbrush. The goat’s rue looks just a bit like it was put together by a committee.

    shoreacres

    July 4, 2016 at 7:03 AM

    • As soon as I saw the rue in the common name I thought of this:

      http://www.bartleby.com/103/31.html

      I was aware of the European rue plant, which I now see is in a different botanical family but which does look vaguely like goat’s rue. And yes, the goat’s rue strikes me too as rather haphazardly put together.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 4, 2016 at 7:36 AM

  7. Generations back, my family is from Missouri. Glad to see some of the flowers they may have seen.

    jane tims

    July 5, 2016 at 6:31 PM


Leave a Reply

