Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

A pink evening primrose flower a little farther along

with 16 comments

Pink Evening Primrose Flower Opening 0881

The previous post showed a bud of a pink evening primrose, Oenothera speciosa, beginning to open. Here from Bull Creek Rd. opposite Jackson Ave. on April 14th is a droplet-dappled view of a somewhat more advanced stage. And how about that minuscule insect? It couldn’t have been more than an eighth of an inch (3mm) long.

In the month since I took this picture, pink evening primrose flowers have been a common sight in central Texas. If you’d like a reminder of the way a colony of these flowers can turn a roadside pink, you’re welcome to revisit a picture from last spring.

© 2016 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

May 12, 2016 at 5:06 AM

16 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really like the droplets on those delicate petals. Very nice.

    Beautywhizz

    May 12, 2016 at 7:19 AM

    • The ample rain this spring has given me more chances than usual to photograph plants, and especially flowers, with droplets on them.

      Steve Schwartzman

      May 12, 2016 at 7:27 AM

  2. Lovely. I liked the first one too.

    Sherry Lynn Felix

    May 12, 2016 at 8:14 AM

  3. Everything goes better with dew drops…or is that bacon? Nope, dew drops.

    Steve Gingold

    May 13, 2016 at 3:31 AM

    • I once met a photographer who carries a sprayer so he can put drops on flowers.

      Steve Schwartzman

      May 13, 2016 at 6:00 AM

      • He’s not the only one. A lot of folks do that. I know of one guy who carries sugar water to place on flowers in order to encourage nectar feeding insects, butterflies especially, to land in front of his camera. Both are not things that I do and, I surmise, neither do you.

        Steve Gingold

        May 13, 2016 at 8:24 AM

        • No, I don’t do those things, nor use fake backgrounds. I don’t think I’d heard about using sugar water till now.

          Steve Schwartzman

          May 13, 2016 at 4:28 PM

          • There are a lot of things photographers do to get the shot at the possible expense of a subject’s welfare or life. Don’t get me started on the ones who refrigerate frogs.

            Steve Gingold

            May 13, 2016 at 6:14 PM

  4. I wonder if that tiny insect was on his way to get a drink from a drop? I think he has a friend, too. Is there a second, similar insect in the green portion near what I think is called the receptacle?

    As for that drop-dropping photographer, he reminds me of tales I’ve heard about food photographers. There’s a reason what we see in the magazines looks nothing like what’s served up in restaurants. Hair spray on burger buns comes to mind.

    shoreacres

    May 13, 2016 at 7:31 AM

    • You have eagle eyes this morning: yes, there’s another tiny insect in the hollow down below. I’ve seen tiny insects on many dry flowers over the year, so I don’t know if the ones in this picture were at home, so to speak, when the droplets formed, and are just waiting for things to go back to normal, or whether they rely on this sort of moisture. What I know about insects is a drop in the ocean.

      Like you, I’ve read about some of the tricks that food photographers go through to make their subjects look yummy. Some nature photographers have been known to carry a sprayer to put drops on flowers, but not I.

      Steve Schwartzman

      May 13, 2016 at 7:45 AM

  5. Another beauty. Love it.

    Pairodox Farm

    May 14, 2016 at 6:37 PM

  6. Beautiful.

    theresagreen

    May 18, 2016 at 2:09 PM


Leave a Reply

