Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Dropped on my head

with 38 comments

Dewdropped Spiderweb Over Rock 9627

If I’d immediately followed up the recent consecutive posts showing drizzle drops around a straggler daisy and then around a funnel web spider, you might have thought I’d been dropped on my head. Now at a decent distance in time from those photographs, here’s a downward-looking view showing dewdrops in a horizontal spiderweb less than half an inch above the parallel rock beneath it. This time the drops themselves are the subject. To see some of the orbs more clearly as little planets unto themselves, and to make out the delicate strands holding them in place, click the excerpt below.

Dewdropped Spiderweb Over Rock 9627A

I took this picture on March 25 off Harold Ct. within sight of the pale blue bluebonnet you recently saw.

© 2016 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

April 14, 2016 at 5:06 AM

38 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow. I love all of your little planets–the image is spectacular, Steven.

    Mike Powell

    April 14, 2016 at 5:29 AM

  2. In the close up your dewdrops look like diamonds! Beautiful clarity! And love the title… 😀

    Heyjude

    April 14, 2016 at 5:58 AM

    • Happy to jewelry to you, Jude. Not for the first time will I say now that the clarity in some of my photographs comes from the clarity I developed as a math teacher. The post’s title is in the same quipping spirit.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 14, 2016 at 6:52 AM

  3. WOW! This is big!

    elmdriveimages

    April 14, 2016 at 6:16 AM

    • The ruler won’t measure more than a couple of inches, but there are worlds in those inches.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 14, 2016 at 6:54 AM

  4. That is amazing – it does look like an amazingly intricate piece of jewellery in the detailed pic

    Chas Spain

    April 14, 2016 at 6:16 AM

    • I’m glad I had the afterthought of adding the enlargement. The originals of all the photographs that appear here are much larger and therefore more detailed.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 14, 2016 at 6:56 AM

  5. C’est magique… 😉

    MyoPaname

    April 14, 2016 at 7:34 AM

  6. This is one of those wonderful photos that doesn’t look “like” anything else to me. It simply is what it is, and it’s quite compelling.

    The enlargement showing the strands is a wonderful addition; they help to raise it far above many standard dewdrop photos. And it’s fascinating to see the differences among the droplets. Some are smooth little spheres, and some appear to be faceted. The color’s interesting, too. It seems rare to see a naturally-occuring sepia-toned photo. It’s neat to see so much going on in what appears to be a simple photo.

    shoreacres

    April 14, 2016 at 8:00 AM

    • Those are excellent observations. In a few places in the first photograph you can see traces of spider silk against a darker patch, but the enlargement reveals how widespread the strands were. Logic says that must be the case—how else could the droplets remain suspended?—but the enlargement gives visual confirmation and exemplifies the adage that seeing is believing.

      As for this photo not looking like anything else, that’s a virtue of an abstract view, and one reason I’m so fond of abstractions.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 14, 2016 at 8:28 AM

  7. this is soooo pretty !!!

    gwenniesworld

    April 14, 2016 at 1:40 PM

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it. It’s different from any previous raindrops-in-spiderweb picture I’d taken.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 14, 2016 at 2:34 PM

  8. Can see worlds in there … Even little spider webs between?

    jane tims

    April 14, 2016 at 5:45 PM

    • Yes. It’s those very fine threads of spider silk that hold the worlds (i.e. drops) in place.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 14, 2016 at 7:02 PM

  9. Love these wonderful little natural abstracts 😀

    • Me too. I’ve done a lot of abstracts in the past year, more than my average for the past decade.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 14, 2016 at 7:03 PM

      • I haven’t done quite so many this year! Probably because I’ve had so much else to concentrate on. I’ve really enjoyed the ones that you’ve been posting 🙂 It’s all about really looking at what’s in front of (or above/below) you! The ones with the water and algae were brilliant too 😀

        • Thanks for your vote of confidence. I took zillions of algae pictures but restrained myself by showing just a few because this is a general audience. I expect you’ll go back to doing more abstractions yourself when the time is right.

          Steve Schwartzman

          April 15, 2016 at 7:33 PM

          • I go through phases 😉 I do sometimes feel a bit guilty about the amount of tropical butterflies I share throughout February and March but I’m hopelessly obsessed!

        • By the way, I’ll have a different sort of abstraction tomorrow.

          Steve Schwartzman

          April 15, 2016 at 7:36 PM

  10. I am not sure I could identify this as what it really is. It sort of defies identification. A wild guess with no clues might be carbonation. I like the comparison to separate planets. They will exist as separate entities for a short time until evaporation takes its toll.

    Steve Gingold

    April 14, 2016 at 6:43 PM

    • Right. The ephemeral nature of these drops makes them all the more special. I see them as akin to algae bubbles, though in the aggregate those can last for days, not just hours.

      Your first sentence makes me wonder about the different ways (like the carbonation you suggested) that people would have identified this little scene if I hadn’t explained it.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 14, 2016 at 7:06 PM

  11. Wow that’s amazing Steve .. I would never have known that they were suspended in a spider web!

    Julie@frogpondfarm

    April 16, 2016 at 12:06 AM

    • The photograph is close and therefore abstract (yay, abstraction; yay mystery). Had you been standing there in person, I think you’d have easily recognized that the little droplets of dew were clinging to a spiderweb.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 16, 2016 at 12:14 AM

  12. jolie photo et toutes les photos sont superbes, très beau blog !

    marc bourbon

    April 20, 2016 at 4:11 PM

  13. Steve, this is different – and stunning. And a beautiful abstract atrwork 🙂

    Truels

    April 20, 2016 at 6:00 PM

    • As photographers, we always hope that something new will come along, and we rejoice when it does. I’m especially fond of abstractions, and it seems you are too.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 20, 2016 at 6:19 PM


Leave a Reply

