Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

I’m a sap for a seep

with 18 comments

In American English a seep is a place where underground water oozes to the surface, as opposed to a spring, where water flows out of the ground more quickly. Near the Sierra Nevada entrance to Great Hills Park are two seeps that might better be considered a single seep because they’re so close together on opposite sides of a trail. On March 18th I continued my present penchant for abstract pattern pictures by portraying picturesque portions of both parts. Here are a few samples.

Seep Patterns 8327

Seep Patterns 8372

Seep Patterns 8342

© Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

April 3, 2016 at 5:13 AM

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You’re fairly fond of the fresh alliterative phrase, too: leading to fun for your followers. Photo-wise, I was caught by the differences among the images. Is it possible the center photo’s the un-seeped-upon trail, and that the other two photos show different forms of seep-based growth?

    shoreacres

    April 3, 2016 at 6:26 AM

    • I’m not surprised that you noticed the Peter-Piper-picked-a-peck-of-pickled-peppers-ness and that you forged a fitting follow-up.

      As for the pictures, all are from parts of the seep; the trail itself isn’t photogenic there, as far as I recall. The slight sheen on the dark rocks in the center picture comes from the fact that the rocks were wet, but that may not be so noticeable in the small version of the photograph in the post.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 3, 2016 at 7:39 AM

  2. Fascinating abstracts, and what manner of all kinds of strange vegetation/organisms!

    Nature on the Edge

    April 3, 2016 at 7:21 AM

    • Strange organisms indeed. That little bit of constant wetness fosters many sorts of life. I’m assuming the pale orange and tan crinkly things in the first photograph are some sort of algae, but I don’t know if I’m correct.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 3, 2016 at 7:57 AM

  3. The colors remind me of growths in the hot spring pools of Yellowstone.

    Jim Ruebush

    April 3, 2016 at 8:24 AM

    • I’d gladly record the more-glamorous colors and shapes of Yellowstone, but Great Hills Park has the advantage of being in my neighborhood rather than 1440 road miles away.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 3, 2016 at 9:22 AM

  4. Abstractions in nature are enticing and yet often are unnoticed.

    lensandpensbysally

    April 3, 2016 at 8:28 AM

    • I’m competing for Noticer-in-Chief, Sally. I’ve done more than my usual quota of abstractions in the past year.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 3, 2016 at 9:31 AM

  5. You’ve got yourself a lot of cool stuff in those shots, Steve. It would be interesting to find out what they all are. Algae’s a good start, I think. So many p’s.

    Steve Gingold

    April 3, 2016 at 5:38 PM

    • I was taken with this area and took dozens of pictures as I experimented with different ways of framing the things I saw. I’m afraid I’m not so good at identifying them.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 3, 2016 at 8:44 PM

  6. We share an affection for alliteration and abstracts, Steve. The filaments and little spots of green leaves keep drawing me to the third one for some reason, but they are all extremely pleasing to the eye and interesting.

    Jane

    April 5, 2016 at 5:00 PM

    • Yes, we do share those two affections. It’s good to know someone else who has more than the average liking (which I have the impression isn’t a lot) for abstractions. For whatever reason, I’ve been especially given over to that this year.

      The greenery in the third image distinguishes it from the first two. I just wish I knew what those little plants are.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 5, 2016 at 5:32 PM

  7. Seeply gorgeous!

    Susan Scheid

    April 7, 2016 at 3:20 PM

    • By coincidence I visited this spot a few hours ago in preparation for co-hosting a nature walk in Great on Saturday. Much of the seep has dried up since mid-March but the little area shown in the third photograph has remained wet and therefore still looks about the same.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 7, 2016 at 3:25 PM

  8. I love these photos. They are beautiful like abstract paintings.

    Truels

    April 8, 2016 at 6:52 PM

  9. I love the patterning, colours and textures you reveal in the first photograph, beautiful.

    theresagreen

    April 9, 2016 at 12:53 PM

    • Thanks. I wish I knew what that salmon-colored stuff is. Whatever it is, I couldn’t resist photographing it.

      Steve Schwartzman

      April 9, 2016 at 1:01 PM


Leave a Reply

