Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Last week we had rain, so…

with 21 comments

Rain-Lily Flower Opening 8061

Last week we had rain, so on March 15 I saw my first rain-lily (Cooperia pedunculata) for 2016. In fact I came across this one and no other. The next day I also saw exactly one. Yesterday I began seeing more.

For a long time I’ve been fond of photographs with “upside down” backgrounds in which the upper part is dark and the lower part light. Today’s picture is an example.

© 2016 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

March 18, 2016 at 5:07 AM

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful and I like the background.

    navasolanature

    March 18, 2016 at 6:15 AM

  2. Here, I’m still waiting for our wildflowers to respond to the rain. But I’ve seen a lot of wonderful Bluebonnets already in town.

    Pit

    March 18, 2016 at 7:43 AM

    • It’s a good thing to be waiting for, and in the meantime you already have your bluebonnets. An online weather forecast for Fredericksburg that I just checked is showing an 80% chance of rain there today. More wildflowers, here we come.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 18, 2016 at 7:55 AM

  3. Hey Steve a truly beautiful image ..

    Julie@frogpondfarm

    March 18, 2016 at 11:46 AM

  4. Lovely portrait.

    Steve Gingold

    March 18, 2016 at 2:40 PM

  5. Beautiful -love the light

    norasphotos4u

    March 18, 2016 at 7:33 PM

  6. I’ve been watching for these, but every time I stop, I find I’ve been fooled by false garlic. Of course, it’s in the lily family, too, and is pretty in its own right. Until this year, I’d never seen the stripe on the outside of the false garlic bud. It reminds me of the blush of pink I’ve sometimes seen on the rain lily.

    shoreacres

    March 19, 2016 at 7:56 AM

    • I’d been seeing crow poison (false garlic) here for weeks, which is normal, as it regularly precedes rain-lilies in the spring. With the recent Texas precipitation, I suspect your search for a rain-lily will be fulfilled soon. Being much larger than a crow poison flower, a rain-lily flower makes for easier pictures.

      Your reference to the crow poison stripe reminds me that that some people (like me) pronounce striped in one syllable, others in two (like Richard Harris singing “MacArthur Park”).

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 19, 2016 at 8:17 AM

  7. Very beautiful. And thanks for drawing our attention to the background. Intriguing and pretty!

    I’ve some wildflowers for you, Steve. Do check them out. 🙂

    Nandini

    March 19, 2016 at 10:09 PM

  8. I was delighted to meet some of these lovelies both at the Lady Bird Johnson center and elsewhere on our little jaunt. Got one small shot showing the white-to-rosy progression rather nicely. I hope. 😀

    kathryningrid

    March 21, 2016 at 11:55 AM

    • I’m glad to hear it. The rosy stage is just as appealing as the pristine white. I photographed one in that transitional state yesterday, my first for this year.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 21, 2016 at 9:53 PM


Leave a Reply

