Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

A profusion of Mexican plum blossoms

with 26 comments

Mexican Plum Tree Blossoming by Redbud 7168

Here’s a Mexican plum tree, Prunus mexicana, along the northern end of Spicewood Springs Rd. on March 3.

A redbud, Cercis canadensis, colors the picture’s lower right corner and in so doing draws your attention to it.

Now that the redbud’s got your attention, here it is in its own right:

Redbud Tree Blossoming 7166

Oh well, let’s make a plum blossom sandwich of it. Here’s that first tree again, looked at from the other side and this time with a verdant fringe across the bottom of the image:

Mexican Plum Tree Blossoming Above Vegetation 7172

—–

UPDATE. I’ve added another degree of enlargement to the three in yesterday’s post about water striders in response to a comment by Dee Smith about the lowest water strider being just a reflection.

© 2016 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

March 17, 2016 at 5:25 AM

26 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice series…come on Spring!

    elmdriveimages

    March 17, 2016 at 6:29 AM

    • Down here it’s more like “Stay away, summer.” On Monday we hit 91° and on Tuesday 92°.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 17, 2016 at 6:33 AM

  2. Great Redbud. Ours are still very small. One because we only planted it last year, and one because the deer always nibble at it. Love the plum tree, too.

    Pit

    March 17, 2016 at 9:21 AM

    • Even if they’re small, at least you have two redbuds of your own. These spring trees are great.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 17, 2016 at 10:25 AM

      • They sure are. And we can hope for them to grow bigger. 🙂

        Pit

        March 17, 2016 at 10:44 AM

        • Mit der Zeit kommt die Schönheit (and I hope I got that right).

          Steve Schwartzman

          March 17, 2016 at 11:05 AM

          • You sure got that right! I didn’t know you spoke German! Great! 🙂

            Pit

            March 17, 2016 at 12:42 PM

            • I’m afraid I know only a little bit. I had one year of German in college but that was literally half a century ago. I just like to play with words, so I hunted for something that would rhyme with Zeit and also make sense following what you wrote. Then I tacked on the English rhyme.

              Steve Schwartzman

              March 17, 2016 at 1:55 PM

  3. rigenerating!

    Giuseppa Sallustio

    March 17, 2016 at 9:25 AM

  4. Looks stunning and bring on the Spring!

    navasolanature

    March 17, 2016 at 2:02 PM

  5. Lovely. Winter is making a last ditch effort here this weekend. We might get a few inches to ring in spring.

    Steve Gingold

    March 18, 2016 at 3:40 AM

    • I hope never to see my last ditch because ditches have proved good places to find wildflowers.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 18, 2016 at 6:49 AM

  6. Smothered in blossom .. Love the fringe of green

    Julie@frogpondfarm

    March 18, 2016 at 12:56 PM

  7. These are such beautiful trees. I tend to assume that anything with white blossoms is Bradford pear, since they were favored by landscapers around here, but I need to stop and check more closely now that we have profusely blooming trees everywhere.

    I remember you mentioning a blooming tree next to the Alamo — at least, I think I remember that. I thought it was a Mexican plum, but now I can’t find a post. Maybe I’m imagining it. I do wonder if the Plum Creek near Lockhart — the site of a Texas revolutionary battle — was named after the Mexican plum. Since the tree’s a native, it’s possible.

    shoreacres

    March 19, 2016 at 8:11 AM

    • A bunch (or all?) of the trees in the rose family produce great blossoms, e.g. the cherry trees in Japan and Washington. The strip along the northern end of Spicewood Springs Rd. where the plum and redbud trees were flowering seems to have been planted with natives but I don’t know who did the planting. In 2013 I photographed a Mexican buckeye and a huisache there,

      https://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2013/04/08/a-different-buckeye/

      neither of which was yet flowering when I visited the place two weeks ago.

      I suspect you’re right that Plum Creek near Lockhart was named for native plum trees. I see that a battle with Comanches took place there

      http://www.texasescapes.com/JefferyRobenalt/Great-Comanche-Raid-and-Battle-of-Plum-Creek.htm

      but that may be the battle you referred to.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 19, 2016 at 8:37 AM

      • That’s right; it was the battle with Comanches. Plum Creek and the revolution got connected in my mind because Plum Creek also was important during the Runaway Scrape.

        Of course, for a couple of decades, Plum Creek and Lockhart meant something quite different to me. Lockhart’s the home of Kreuz Market, and what may be the best barbeque in Texas.

        shoreacres

        March 19, 2016 at 8:45 AM

  8. Blossoms are my favorites. Earth looks the prettiest when they bloom. Very beautiful photos. I would happily put the first photo as my desktop background.

    Nandini

    March 19, 2016 at 10:15 PM

    • Spring is fully here in central Texas now, and blossoms are the order of the day.

      You’re certainly welcome to use the first photo as your desktop background if you’d like.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 19, 2016 at 10:33 PM

      • Thanks. Picture size is little small for my desktop. 🙂

        Nandini

        March 19, 2016 at 10:36 PM

  9. Marvelous. Having chosen (in successive years) a redbud sapling and a Mexican plum one in the annual Denton tree giveaway and planted them near each other in the front yard before we sold the house to the new family in December, I will be interested in the next year or two to drive by and see them—hopefully—blooming together so prettily. If on a much smaller scale!! The lady of the house is a biologist and plans to home-school their kids in the beginning, so I expect they’ll do great things with the property.

    kathryningrid

    March 21, 2016 at 11:53 AM

    • That’s a happy coincidence of blossoming trees. How fortunate that the lady of the house is a biologist who can appreciate your planting.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 21, 2016 at 9:55 PM


Leave a Reply

