Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Blossom pink and sky blue

with 35 comments

Redbud Blossoming Beneath Large Live Oak 5442

Behold a redbud tree (Cercis canadensis) blossoming beneath a venerable live oak (Quercus fusiformis) in Shipe Park on the clear morning of February 17th.

Did you know that the American tradition of pink for baby girls and blue for baby boys goes back only to the 1940s?

© 2016 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

March 2, 2016 at 4:44 AM

35 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. what a beautiful color!

    DailyMusings

    March 2, 2016 at 4:57 AM

  2. Ah, redbud. We’re weeks away…at least historically. Who knows with this weather lately.

    Steve Gingold

    March 2, 2016 at 5:18 AM

    • And over here a few of the redbuds are already looking a little faded. Fortunately many are still fresh, and pink is to be seen in many places around town.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 2, 2016 at 6:55 AM

  3. A friend and I were talking yesterday about the paucity of fine redbuds in our neighborhoods. There are plenty of examples of large, abundantly flowering ones in Houston, but ours are much smaller, and not so dramatic as the one you’ve offered here.

    Your title, and the photo, reminded me of the color sky-blue pink. I wrote a brief complaint about a Crayola-colors naming contest once, and a reader told me about the color with the interesting name that never had made it into the box of 64 colors. Personally, I think it’s a wonderful, real color. I don’t see it often, but I see it here.

    shoreacres

    March 2, 2016 at 7:17 AM

    • That’s an excellent article about the imaginary color sky-blue pink, which I don’t recall encountering a mention of. I can conceive an iridescent object that’s pink but when moved slightly allows bits of sky blue to appear. I’ll bet the combination exists somewhere in a piece of dichroic jewelry.

      Speaking of words, my brain just latched onto your use of paucity and imagined a Texas town with few inhabitants changing its name to Pau City.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 2, 2016 at 7:55 AM

  4. Truly, a sight to behold! I love this.

    melissabluefineart

    March 2, 2016 at 8:50 AM

    • A sight for cold eyes, so to speak. I beheld it by holding myself low to the ground so I could look upward.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 2, 2016 at 9:25 AM

      • Ah, you’ve got that right. We were enjoying 50 and 50-degree days there for awhile, but we are back to 20’s with snow flurries and I’m grumpy.

        melissabluefineart

        March 3, 2016 at 1:36 PM

        • I’m afraid you’ll get grumpier if I tell you that down here it’s 80° outside now.

          Steve Schwartzman

          March 3, 2016 at 3:14 PM

          • That sounds really nice.

            melissabluefineart

            March 4, 2016 at 8:12 AM

            • It was, and with a good breeze it didn’t feel hot at all.

              Steve Schwartzman

              March 4, 2016 at 9:07 AM

              • I know you are enjoying it on behalf of all of us freezing “up here”. This past week in Coupeville Wa it has been in the 40’s and 50’s~perfect for me 🙂

                melissabluefineart

                March 4, 2016 at 10:02 AM

                • I looked up Coupeville to see where in Washington it is. I see there’s plenty of water near by. 40s and 50s would be cold for me, but I’m glad it’s perfect for thee.

                  Steve Schwartzman

                  March 4, 2016 at 10:43 AM

                • It will be interesting to see how global warming plays out everywhere. Here in the midwest we aren’t seeing much change, just slightly more mild winters. I think out in Coupeville the changes could be significant. The scientist in me is intrigued by change.

                  melissabluefineart

                  March 5, 2016 at 9:12 AM

                • Philosophers since ancient times have been intrigued by change as well. There’s that observation by Heraclitus: “You could not step twice into the same river.”

                  Steve Schwartzman

                  March 5, 2016 at 10:08 AM

                • Oh yes I love that one.

                  melissabluefineart

                  March 6, 2016 at 9:40 AM

                • A similar thought by Heraclitus was: “All is flux, nothing stays still.”

                  Steve Schwartzman

                  March 6, 2016 at 12:54 PM

                • I always find Heraclitus wise.

                  melissabluefineart

                  March 7, 2016 at 7:40 AM

  5. We’re still waiting for our Redbuds to blossom, but the Bradford Pears have just started. I don’t think we’ll get such a wealth of blossoms, though.
    Have a great day,
    Pit

    Pit

    March 2, 2016 at 10:41 AM

    • I have the impression that your cooler temperatures out there often cause a lag of a couple of weeks. We’ve had flowering redbuds here for several weeks already. The Bradford pears (which aren’t native) have just begun to blossom, so on that count we’re equal. For your sake, I hope you’re mistaken about not getting such a wealth of blossoms this year.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 2, 2016 at 10:48 AM

      • I believe you’re right there: due to our different climate we’re a little behind you. And I still hope, too, we’ll get a wealth of blossoms.

        Pit

        March 2, 2016 at 12:09 PM

  6. And we expect snow in Virginia tomorrow. Yesterday’s photo was so beautiful and well-composed; such a surprise to see lovely purple blossoms for two days and one with an insect! Today’s riot of blossoms makes me want to hurry spring. The birds are communicating loudly but that is our only sign so far.

    Dianne

    March 2, 2016 at 11:22 AM

    • It’s true that this blog has been on a purple~violet~pink streak for three days, and Austin has been on a spring streak for more than a month. Plenty of little creatures are active now, a few of which will be putting in appearances here soon.

      I’m sorry for your impending snow, but that’s not unusual for the first days of March in Virginia. Enjoy the white while you can.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 2, 2016 at 2:42 PM

  7. A beautiful painterly vision.

    theresagreen

    March 3, 2016 at 3:53 AM

  8. Cloaked in purple .. Perfect 😀

    Julie@frogpondfarm

    March 4, 2016 at 2:18 AM

    • Many redbuds around town are doing their peak blooming now. Just yesterday I photographed another one.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 4, 2016 at 6:09 AM

  9. This is really beautiful, Steve! 🙂

    Nandini

    March 4, 2016 at 11:50 PM

  10. Gorgeous! I posted a picture of my redbud bloom with a garden post today. I have six of them in the back of my yard which bloom at different intervals, never all-at-once for some reason. It screams spring!

    Shannon

    March 10, 2016 at 8:36 AM

    • I like the way you out that: it screams spring. In your region and mine I’d say the shouting has been going on for weeks already.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 10, 2016 at 9:14 AM

    • By the way, the fact that your redbuds bloom at different times means you get an extended blossoming season. How pleasant.

      Steve Schwartzman

      March 10, 2016 at 9:55 AM

      • I agree, but I also love the fireworks-like explosions of color (like with the pink jasmine on my garden fence at the moment).

        Shannon

        March 10, 2016 at 11:31 AM


Leave a Reply

