Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Maximalist Monday

with 7 comments

Winter Tangle 3810

After I prepared this morning’s post, the twin spirits of yin~yang and alliteration descended upon me and I realized that I could just as well have given you a post called Maximalist Monday with a densely detailed photograph taken conveniently close to the one of the minimalist mustang grape vine. Now I have.

© 2016 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

February 22, 2016 at 10:39 AM

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. With apologies to the person responsible for the “Hogamous, higamous” verse — and perhaps to everyone else:

    Maximus, minimus,
    we bear you no animus;
    minimus, maximus,
    just share what is proximus.

    shoreacres

    February 22, 2016 at 12:13 PM

    • By Jove, in the spirit of what you’ve composed, I’ll add that Optimus Maximus (i.e. ‘best [and] greatest’) was a Roman epithet for Jupiter.

      I’d already read that Quote Investigator account of “Hogamous, higamous,’ an excellent example of misattribution. In fact I remembered that bit of doggerel when I was putting together this post, and perhaps because this is an election year the phrase “Maximus taximus” and the variation “Maximus taxesus” had crossed my mind. In the interest of sticking to nature photography I didn’t use either one here, but I was tempted to.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 22, 2016 at 1:48 PM

      • P.S. I just realized that by coincidence tomorrow’s post is going to have a similar-sounding genus name in it.

        Steve Schwartzman

        February 22, 2016 at 1:50 PM

  2. And, at a maximum, I know I wouldn’t have photographed this either. I do believe this would easily be described as a thicket.

    Steve Gingold

    February 25, 2016 at 5:57 PM

    • Thicket is a good word for it. These tangles appeal to me in winter, when the absence of leaves lets us see the intricacy of all those stems and branches.

      Steve Schwartzman

      February 25, 2016 at 7:07 PM

  3. Nice bramble…nearly made a monotone photograph. And nice follow-up to Minimalist Monday 🙂

    Brandon Brasseaux

    March 2, 2016 at 3:33 PM


Leave a Reply

