Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Look the other way

with 25 comments

Mountain Across from Cerro Castellan 0086

“To look the other way” often means ‘to purposely not pay attention to something,’ but when I stopped to photograph Cerro Castellan in Big Bend National Park on November 22, as you saw last time, I looked the other way and was rewarded with this view across the road. In a few other photographs I took of this formation I zoomed in closer, but here I wanted the mountains farther away at the lower right to serve as a counterbalance.

© 2015 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

December 27, 2015 at 5:08 AM

25 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. beautiful

    DailyMusings

    December 27, 2015 at 5:17 AM

  2. I will echo DailyMusings by saying ‘Beautiful’. But I am also reminded of the rhyme used to teach us road safety, ‘Look to the right, look to the left, look to the right again, then cross the road.’ I don’t know how safe it made us, but it did teach us to stop and pay attention to our surroundings.

    Gallivanta

    December 27, 2015 at 7:02 AM

    • And now you’ve reminded me that when I drove in New Zealand on what for Americans is the wrong side of the road, I kept repeating to myself: “Look right, keep left.” I lived to make it back to America safe and sound.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 27, 2015 at 8:05 AM

    • And that reminds me of the cartoon showing a mama squirrel with her babies. They’re standing at the edge of the road and Mama admonishes the young ones, “Be sure and run both ways.”

      shoreacres

      December 27, 2015 at 1:33 PM

  3. This formidable looking terrain certainly makes for dramatic landscape photography. Like the composition with its counterbalance.

    Nature on the Edge

    December 27, 2015 at 7:30 AM

    • Austin has some hills (coincidentally on the west side of town, where I live) but there are no mountains. That’s one reason people from here enjoy the change of terrain in the Trans-Pecos, where real mountain do exist.

      Thanks for letting me know that as a photographer you like the counterbalance in this image. That distant mountain is nature on the edge.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 27, 2015 at 8:12 AM

  4. I like your inclusion of the more distant mountain, especially as their structures seem to reach toward each other. My eye keeps being drawn from one to the other and then back again. I also like that you included so much sky with the fleecy and gently dramatic clouds.

    krikitarts

    December 27, 2015 at 9:29 AM

    • Fleecy clouds continued all that day and I felt drawn to include them in many of my photographs. I just went back and looked at the pictures I took of this outcrop. In all seven images I aimed high enough to keep from showing any part of the road; in five of the pictures I included the distant mountains in the corner that kept your eyes moving back and forth. That makes for a more dynamic picture but I hope the eye movement wasn’t a strain.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 27, 2015 at 11:33 AM

  5. Such a great shot .. Love the other mountains craving to be included 😀

    Julie@frogpondfarm

    December 27, 2015 at 11:42 AM

  6. I love combinations of blue and brown. While most people think of adobe and turquoise, or ivory sand and the azures and sapphire of Caribbean waters, I think this West Texas combination is equally beautiful. The tinges of pink and gray keep the rocks interesting, as do the clouds for the sky.

    shoreacres

    December 27, 2015 at 1:39 PM

    • This is yet another reason for you to make a trip to the other side of the state, where there are finally mountains worthy of the name. I can’t vouch for the clouds being there, but earthly delights you shall always have with you in that part of the world.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 27, 2015 at 3:17 PM

  7. One of the mantras for landscape photographers is to look behind. Not because anything is gaining on you, although something indeed might be, but because sometimes what is back there is of interest also…or even more interesting than what’s in front.

    Steve Gingold

    December 27, 2015 at 4:24 PM

    • Akin to your mantra is something I’ve witnessed many a time: on the way back along a path I often notice things, even prominent things, that I missed on the outward-bound leg of the walk.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 27, 2015 at 9:45 PM

      • Absolutely. This guy looks nothing like this from the other direction. Sometimes things are hidden behind others or the angle isn’t quite conducive to notice.

        Steve Gingold

        December 28, 2015 at 3:41 AM

  8. Yes, “look the other way” takes on an entirely different meaning in a context like this. I often do this and am continually surprised and gratified by what I discover. On the Walkway here, which you’ve traveled, as I recall, the difference in the light is amazing–as if the water and sky change colors depending on the side of the bridge.

    Susan Scheid

    January 17, 2016 at 9:53 AM

    • We got to experience the Walkway only once, so I appreciate the opportunity you’ve had to see it in many lights (and temperatures and winds, etc.), and from different vantages. There are natural features in Austin that I’ve followed through the seasons year after year.

      Steve Schwartzman

      January 17, 2016 at 10:02 AM


Leave a Reply

