Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Fort Davis

with 15 comments

Fort Davis Fort Site Cliffs 9444

The town of Fort Davis in west Texas is named for the fort that the United States military maintained there from 1854 to 1891. People can still visit the remains and partial reconstruction of the fort, as we did for several hours on the morning of November 20th. The site is bounded along one edge by a long row of cliffs, a span of which you can see in the distance. Also shown here, as Eve first spied it, is a stony face wearing a turban, at least if your imagination accords with hers. You’ll be seeing several more zoomorphic and anthropomorphic images over the next couple of weeks, so get your imaginations in good working order.

© 2015 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

December 5, 2015 at 5:29 AM

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I see a stony face, but no turban. It appears that one of the rock giants in the background lost his head.

    Bill

    December 5, 2015 at 5:43 AM

    • I hope you don’t find the lack of a turban disturbin’ and that you won’t lose your head over it.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 5, 2015 at 5:51 AM

  2. What did Adam see? I couldn’t resist. This is better than cloud gazing.
    I love the terrain!

    Dianne

    December 5, 2015 at 7:54 AM

    • No need to resist, Dianne; I guessed the answer to your riddle.
      “Better than cloud gazing” is saying a lot, so you really must find this terrain terrific.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 5, 2015 at 9:17 AM

  3. Exploring our world is such a bit of fun, love the photo.

    Charlie@Seattle Trekker

    December 5, 2015 at 2:06 PM

  4. I was curious about the geology of the area, and started poking around a bit. I thought this was fascinating: ” Rising above the Chihuahuan desert, the range forms a unique “sky island” surrounded by the lowland desert. Animals and plants living above 5,000 feet are isolated from other similar mountain ranges by vast distances. These are true ecological islands, preserving living remnants that occur otherwise nowhere else in Texas.” For a native plant lover, I’d think that would be heaven.

    Did you get to McDonald Observatory? The fire there was such a horror.

    shoreacres

    December 5, 2015 at 9:56 PM

    • When we drove up into the Davis Mountains the “sky island” was quite apparent in the form of pines and junipers that don’t readily grow at lower elevations (pictures will be forthcoming). The last time we were on that road across the Davis Mountains was Easter Sunday in 2005, and it started snowing. I remember getting out of the car and photographing some snow-covered pines. On that trip we visited the McDonald Observatory but we didn’t stop there this time. I’d forgotten about the nearby fire in 2011, which fortunately didn’t reach the observatory.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 5, 2015 at 10:31 PM

  5. I see a stony face with a turban almost in the centre of your picture (just a smidgen to the left.) Is this the one Eve saw or have I imagined another one. 🙂 I see faces everywhere…

    Jane

    December 7, 2015 at 12:37 AM

    • That’s it, that’s the one she saw.
      I expect by now you’ve faced up to your predilection for seeing faces everywhere.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 7, 2015 at 6:59 AM

      • Yes, I’ve accepted it, Steve. 🙂 I still get disappointed when others can’t see the same faces though and give me strange looks.

        Jane

        December 7, 2015 at 7:45 PM

  6. Those cliffs remind a bit of the Hudson River Palisades. I too saw the face. The turban took a bit longer.

    Steve Gingold

    December 8, 2015 at 4:09 PM

    • I’m like you: I saw the face right away but Eve had to coax my imagination into adding a turban.

      When I was in college I sometimes bought lunch and went down to Riverside Drive to eat it on a park bench. Across the river I could see the majestic Palisades.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 8, 2015 at 4:41 PM


Leave a Reply

