Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Goldenrod turned grey

with 34 comments

Goldenrod Turned Fluffy with Fleecy Clouds 8877

From a year ago today along Burleson Rd. in southeast Austin, here are the fuzzy remains of some goldenrod (Solidago altissima) seen against a backdrop of similarly fleecy clouds. Quite a contrast to the goldenrod in the previous post, wouldn’t you say?

© 2015 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

November 24, 2015 at 8:52 AM

34 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Beautiful image and clever textural relationship.

    theresagreen

    November 24, 2015 at 10:14 AM

  2. What an amazing image .. This plant steals the show

    Julie@frogpondfarm

    November 24, 2015 at 12:28 PM

  3. Gold turns to gray and fades away.

    Steve Gingold

    November 25, 2015 at 4:15 AM

    • I just checked my bad memory for that quote…”Gold will turn to gray and youth will fade away”…is more correct…from Old And In The Way by David Grisman from the album of the same name.

      Steve Gingold

      November 25, 2015 at 4:20 AM

      • My thoughts too, only I was thinking of my own personal circumstances. The yellow goldenrod could represent me at 5 and the grey goldenrod is my present self.

        Gallivanta

        November 25, 2015 at 6:05 AM

        • Now we’ll expect to see a color photo of Miss Goldenhair at age 5.

          Steve Schwartzman

          November 25, 2015 at 7:01 AM

          • Miss Goldenrod is only on slides and I don’t have a way to scan the slides. 🙂

            Gallivanta

            November 26, 2015 at 3:26 AM

              • Ah, now I do have a way. A little gallivanting across town may be worthwhile, although the items can be posted.

                Gallivanta

                November 27, 2015 at 2:25 AM

                • I noticed that the place was on the opposite side of town. If you send items, I hope your postal service is better than ours. I recently mailed something to a person on the other side of Austin and it took a week to arrive.

                  Steve Schwartzman

                  November 27, 2015 at 6:36 AM

                • I doubt ours would be much better. Postal delivery is only 3 days a week now.

                  Gallivanta

                  November 27, 2015 at 9:46 PM

                • Ours is still six days a week, so the postal “service” has no excuse for taking a week to deliver something from Austin to Austin.

                  Steve Schwartzman

                  November 27, 2015 at 10:17 PM

                • We have odd scenarios where mail from small towns is sent to a central sorting center far away and then sent back to the town from whence it came. This is efficient apparently.

                  Gallivanta

                  November 28, 2015 at 2:50 AM

                • FedEx (formerly Federal Express) began as an express cargo airline that took the innovative approach of sending all packages to a hub in Memphis, where they were sorted and sent back out to their destinations. From the article at

                  https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FedEx_Express

                  I see that FedEx is now “the world’s largest airline in terms of freight tons flown.”

                  Steve Schwartzman

                  November 28, 2015 at 7:40 AM

        • Myself as well. Only I was a youthful brunette at 5. 🙂

          Steve Gingold

          November 25, 2015 at 7:31 AM

      • I don’t believe I’ve ever heard of David Grisman. A Wikipedia article I just looked at makes him look like a gris (i.e. grey) man, or like a longer-locks version of me (who is coincidentally the same age). The article says he’s “an American bluegrass/newgrass mandolinist and composer of acoustic music.” I’ve heard of bluegrass but never of “newgrass.” Oh well, I guess you can teach an old blog new tricks.

        Steve Schwartzman

        November 25, 2015 at 6:59 AM

        • He sometimes mixes a little jazz in that makes it newgrass, I think. Check out the song…I’d link it for you, but this phone isn’t link-friendly…or I’m just too gray-headed to figure it out.

          Steve Gingold

          November 25, 2015 at 7:35 AM

          • I’m with you: trying to do things on a phone isn’t fun.

            I just found this: “Old & in the Way was a one-shot bluegrass band whose legacy lasted far longer than the band. Led by Grateful Dead member Jerry Garcia (banjo, vocals), the band also featured David Nelson (guitar, vocals), David Grisman (mandolin, vocals), Vassar Clements (fiddle), Peter Rowan (guitar, vocals), and John Kahn (bass). Garcia formed the band in 1973 as a way to revisit his bluegrass roots and demonstrate his affection for the music.”

            Steve Schwartzman

            November 25, 2015 at 7:41 AM

            • That’s the one. A favorite. I believe the entire album is on YouTube and well worth a listen for both the music and the lyrics. A little on the melancholy side so eat some chocolate while listening to stay balanced.

              Steve Gingold

              November 25, 2015 at 7:49 AM

        • I’ve been following Grisman since the 70s — once, I heard him live in Telluride. He played My Father’s Place in Roslyn, on Long Island, in 1979. That link’s a live performance, with all the downside — chatter, poor recording quality — but you can see him with Stephane Grappelli here.

          shoreacres

          November 29, 2015 at 10:00 PM

          • Ah, Roslyn, not too far from where I grew up. We occasionally went to a restaurant there—not My Father’s Place, but my father drove us there. I also remember ducks in the pond at Roslyn. Times that are long gone…

            Steve Schwartzman

            November 29, 2015 at 11:00 PM

  4. Of all your posts that I missed, this one is my favorite. I found some fluffed out goldenrod just before I left town, and I was amazed by its beauty. I was going to check your archives, to see if you’d photographed it, and here it is. What a treat.

    shoreacres

    November 29, 2015 at 10:07 PM

    • I photographed a differently fluffy goldenrod this year and might have shown it here except that by then I’d already prepared this post and followed the path of least resistance. Besides, this view has a double fleeciness of plant and clouds that the more-recent one lacks.

      Steve Schwartzman

      November 29, 2015 at 10:55 PM

  5. This is definitely art! Love this picture – the clouds, the central composition of the plant, the spiky and soft plant components and the contrasting colours. Perfect. 😉

    Jane

    November 30, 2015 at 10:45 PM

    • Thanks, Jane. I think you’ve missed a career as a publicist.

      Steve Schwartzman

      December 1, 2015 at 4:43 AM

      • Well, I am looking at my options for the future as the money tree is looking a little sad these days. 😉

        Jane

        December 1, 2015 at 4:52 AM

        • At

          https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pachira_aquatica

          I just discovered that there really is a species called the money tree. The article explains that the name money tree “seems to refer to a story of its origin, where a poor man prayed for money, found this ‘odd’ plant, took it home as an omen, and made money selling plants grown from its seeds.”

          Steve Schwartzman

          December 1, 2015 at 5:01 AM

          • Very interesting. Hmm…perhaps I need to look into this money tree further. Actually I had a couple of jade plants in pots. Apparently they are meant to attract wealth. Mine just withered and died. 🙂

            Jane

            December 1, 2015 at 5:11 AM


Leave a Reply

