Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Square-bud primrose flower brightening an overcast day

with 11 comments

Square-Bud Primrose Flower 9039

You’re looking straight down at a square-bud primrose flower, Calylophus berlandieri, in the northeast quadrant of Mopac and US 183 on an overcast and occasionally drizzly November 15th.

This is the second of three yellow flower pictures in a row that I promised you.

———–

I’m away for a few days. You’re welcome to leave comments, but it may take me a while to answer.

© 2015 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

November 22, 2015 at 4:56 AM

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. “Life’s a holiday on primrose lane.” – Jerry Wallace
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Primrose_Lane

    Jim in IA

    November 22, 2015 at 6:43 AM

    • I see that Wayne Shankin, who wrote the song “Primrose Lane,” also wrote “Chanson d’Amour” and “The Big Hurt,” all of which I remember from my teenage years:

      https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Songs_written_by_Wayne_Shanklin

      Thanks for the musical memory trip down Primrose Lane.

      On the botanical side, I’ll add that the flower in this post is in the evening primrose family, Onagraceae, which is different from the family that primroses are in, Primulaceae.

      Steve Schwartzman

      November 22, 2015 at 7:35 AM

    • By coincidence, yesterday I heard “Chanson d’Amour” on the radio for the first time in probably half a century.

      Steve Schwartzman

      November 24, 2015 at 6:23 PM

  2. What a fun pairing: this primrose, and my pink evening primrose, both found on the same day, and both blooming a bit past their season. I found this image on the Wildflower Center site that shows the two flowers together.

    shoreacres

    November 22, 2015 at 10:00 AM

    • And another fun coincidence: same day, same name (primrose), same sort of after-season bloom. I don’t often see the pink and yellow evening primroses together, so the photographer of the picture on the Wildflower Center site must have been happy.

      Steve Schwartzman

      November 23, 2015 at 9:22 PM

  3. So THAT’S what it’s called! It’s one of my favorite yellows of the year. They’re all over the place here in the drainage ditches that I frequent, chasing little birdies. Thank you for doing my research for me, Steve. 😉

    “We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.” ~ Oscar Wilde

    Shannon

    November 22, 2015 at 11:31 AM

    • I’m always gratified when I can identify a species for someone (including myself!). Some square-bud primroses have a yellow stigma, while others in the same species have a black stigma. It’s good to hear you have so many of these wildflowers in your ditches. It sounds like you were substituting those ditches for the gutter in Oscar Wilde’s saying.

      Steve Schwartzman

      November 23, 2015 at 9:26 PM

      • That quote always gets me to singing The Pretenders. I’ve never seen the kind with the black stigma, but now I’ll be looking!

        Shannon

        November 24, 2015 at 12:39 PM

  4. And yet more stored sunlight to brighten a gloomy day. Socked in overcast almost all day here, with just a few moments of filtered sunlight, so this is indeed a second treat.

    Steve Gingold

    November 22, 2015 at 2:10 PM


Leave a Reply

