Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

Snails again

with 10 comments

Two Snails on Dry Stalk 1187

It’s been a while since I showed you the way snails climb plants in this part of the world, so here’s an example from McKinney Falls State Park on August 19th. The dingy cobwebs imply that these two snails, which were larger than the more-numerous little white ones I so often see, had been in this position for some time.

© 2015 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

September 10, 2015 at 5:20 AM

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ha 🙂 That is just what I was thinking. Is it their slimy goo, or is it, in fact, cobwebs?

    melissabluefineart

    September 10, 2015 at 2:08 PM

    • Hmm. I never thought about slimy goo. As far as I can tell, it was cobwebs, but I’m no expert on such things.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 10, 2015 at 3:09 PM

  2. At first I thought you were complaining about the dinner menu.

    I’m with Melissa…those seem more like sleek slimy strands of slippery slobbery goo.

    Steve Gingold

    September 10, 2015 at 4:02 PM

  3. I suspect the snails might have entered a state of estivation. Hot and/or dry conditions can cause them to pull into their shells and seal themselves in, and this surely does look more like snail slime than webs. There are a lot of articles about the process, but this one has a nice summation.

    I wonder if they encourage each other with a little cheer? “Two, four, six, eight — everybody estivate!”

    shoreacres

    September 10, 2015 at 8:40 PM

    • We were certainly in the midst of hot and dry weather on August 19th, so estivation could well have been the order of the day (and week and month). It’s also possible that the snails were dead, but I wouldn’t have known how to tell the difference.

      For me estivation has taken on the opposite sense: in spite of the heat and drought, I went out photographing fairly often in July and August and into September. Yesterday and today we finally had a little rain, and the maximum temperature tomorrow is predicted to be only in the high 80s.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 10, 2015 at 9:37 PM

  4. Love the photo and I found the comments to be really informative.

    Charlie@Seattle Trekker

    September 11, 2015 at 4:29 PM

  5. I’ve never seen anything like this before

    My Small Surrenders

    September 24, 2015 at 8:02 PM

    • If you take a walk in nature here in central Texas you’ll see plenty of snails, most of them white and smaller than these two, that have climbed up on plants. I’m used to seeing the sight, but perhaps it’s not as common in other places.

      Steve Schwartzman

      September 24, 2015 at 8:33 PM


Leave a Reply

