Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

New Zealand: What a difference a day makes

with 29 comments

Dynamic Early Morning Clouds 8364

The pleasant Georgia-O’Keeffe-esque cumulus clouds that I saw from Auckland’s One Tree Hill on the afternoon of February 26th gave way to these dynamic, partly wispy, sunrise-tinged ones above Little Manly Beach early on the morning of the 27th.

© 2015 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

July 21, 2015 at 4:54 AM

29 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. And without reading the text I would have said, “Oh, Steve’s back at Rotorua again.”

    Gallivanta

    July 21, 2015 at 5:03 AM

    • I wish I could be back as easily as your imagination took you back. I also hope you’re back to normal, or at least a lot closer.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 21, 2015 at 5:07 AM

  2. Interesting. My first reaction was mist over the choppy water.

    Steve Gingold

    July 21, 2015 at 5:26 AM

    • As so often happens, now that you say it I can imagine it. Your words “mist over the choppy water” remind me of “Bridge over Troubled Water,” which I can’t believe came out 45 years ago already.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 21, 2015 at 5:48 AM

      • Time does fly whether we are having fun or not. I hope your waters are not troubled.

        Steve Gingold

        July 22, 2015 at 4:09 AM

        • So WordPress is getting even more bizarre. Not only is my Gravatar image messed up, but now for the first time my comment is awaiting moderation.

          Steve Gingold

          July 22, 2015 at 4:10 AM

        • I guess I’m not more troubled than anyone else, on average, by the slings and arrows of outrageous fortune.

          Steve Schwartzman

          July 22, 2015 at 6:58 AM

          • But I’m sorry to hear that you seem currently troubled by WordPress. My comments on other people’s blogs likewise awaited moderation on some people’s blogs recently after I changed the e-mail address I had listed with WordPress.

            Steve Schwartzman

            July 22, 2015 at 7:01 AM

  3. Absolutely fascinating. I saw it first as mist rising from water falling over rocks. Even after reading your description, it was hard to sort out. I’ve never seen cloud formations like that, despite spending a lot of time looking at clouds. It’s a good reminder that skies can differ as much, and as reliably, as beaches. The land exerts its own influence on the clouds.

    shoreacres

    July 21, 2015 at 7:07 AM

    • So you and Steve G. both inferred water, an element that you live near and have spent lots of time on, and that he often seeks out in his photographs of falls. All I can say is that these clouds were magical and I was thrilled to find them there that morning. Like you, I don’t think I’ve ever seen anything of that sort in America.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 21, 2015 at 7:35 AM

      • On the other hand, clouds are formed from water vapor and ice crystals. Perhaps we could say that a cloud’s just water, with aspirations — though how nice that they also provided inspiration for you.

        shoreacres

        July 23, 2015 at 1:46 PM

        • I’d say the photographer was as aspiring as the cloud, and some people found the photograph inspiring.

          Steve Schwartzman

          July 23, 2015 at 3:03 PM

  4. I will join the crowd and say I immediately saw this photograph as cascading water over flat rocks with mist rising above. How intriguing!

    weisserwatercolours

    July 21, 2015 at 7:42 AM

    • Seems like we’ve got some aqueous crowdsourcing going on. Water never entered my mind here because even though I was at a beach I knew that I’d aimed my camera up into the sky for this image (and some others) and hadn’t included any part of the gulf—in contrast to yesterday’s first photograph. Ah, the power of abstraction to let the beholder fill in the context.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 21, 2015 at 7:57 AM

  5. Love the abstract look of this one.

    karenjoslin

    July 21, 2015 at 9:28 AM

  6. Like others here my immediate thought was of a steaming cauldron. Not clouds. The power of good composition.

    Heyjude

    July 21, 2015 at 12:27 PM

  7. stunning !!!

    gwenniesgarden

    July 21, 2015 at 1:19 PM

  8. Stunning photo. So abstract

    Raewyn's Photos

    July 21, 2015 at 2:54 PM

  9. Perfect! I love it.

    Jane

    July 22, 2015 at 6:14 AM

  10. This is a fascinating image of an equally fascinating cloud formation. We often have amazing skyscapes here in flat Florida, unlike any I ever remember seeing in the northeast US.

    Birder's Journey

    July 24, 2015 at 3:34 PM

    • That sounds like a good reason for me to visit flat Florida, where I’ve spent only a few days, and even that was more than 30 years ago.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 24, 2015 at 4:32 PM


Leave a Reply

