Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

New Zealand: Rangitoto Island seen from Little Manly Beach early on the morning of February 27th

with 18 comments

Rangitoto Island from Little Manly Beach at Dawn 8321

If you’d like to learn more about the extinct volcano that is Rangitoto Island, you can read the website of the Rangitoto Island Historic Conservation Trust or a Wikipedia article. And if you’d like a closer and more-abstract view of the rocks on Little Manly Beach by the dawn’s early light, just look down.

The sea now gets to lave the shore
That lava got to lave before.

Sunrise Beach Details 8338

© 2015 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

July 20, 2015 at 5:32 AM

18 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lave-erly.

    Gallivanta

    July 20, 2015 at 6:07 AM

  2. haha… what can I say after that comment 😀

    Heyjude

    July 20, 2015 at 7:57 AM

  3. This now makes two of us who wish we were the first to say that.

    Steve Gingold

    July 20, 2015 at 10:09 AM

  4. I am a little embarrassed to admit that I did not know the meaning of the word “lave” although I am sure I must have come across it at some time during my literature studies. Thank you for extending my vocabulary. The subtle pinks in the first picture are appealing and at first I thought that the second picture were only patterns in the sand until I read your words and looked more closely. Very unusual, Steve.

    Jane

    July 21, 2015 at 1:23 AM

    • Most literary words (as opposed to commonplace, everyday words) are long, but lave is a short one. A century-old dictionary gives some examples. Pope: “In her chaste current oft the goddess laves.” Byron: “His feet the foremost breakers lave.” A more-common relative of lave that you will recognize is lavish, which I’m tempted to apply to Little Manly Beach based on the pictures it provided me.

      In the second photograph, what you see in the foreground could easily pass for wet sand at the shoreline, but the flow lines farther back are certainly volcanic. In looking at my archive, I see this is the only picture I took of this formation; I don’t know why I didn’t take more.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 21, 2015 at 4:47 AM

  5. Looking at that apparently deserted beach in the first photo, I suddenly wondered if there were shore birds there. Our shoreline is covered with gulls, sandpipers, plovers, etc.: their scuttling and crying makes it a very busy place even without people around.

    That second photo is yet another great abstraction. I find myself wondering what you could do with Texas beaches. I really can see these New Zealand abstractions gathered in an exhibition. And you know me — always an idea. Wouldn’t it be fun to combine an equal number of Texas and New Zealand beach abstractions, call the exhibit “Beaches Near, Beaches Far” and let the viewers figure out which location each photo represents? I think it would be wonderful fun.

    shoreacres

    July 21, 2015 at 7:02 AM

    • Yes, there were a few seagulls and other shore birds, but some guy let his two dogs loose and they ran about barking and charging the birds and drove them away.

      I’ve thought for a long time that I should spend more time along the Texas coast and take lots of pictures, but somehow I haven’t done it yet. Your idea for a comparison of the beaches here to those in New Zealand seems a good one to me, and it might even necessitate the “hardship” of going back to New Zealand for more pictures.

      You’ve reminded me that in the late ’70s, when gender politics was already in overdrive, I floated the idea of putting on a photo exhibit with pictures by unidentified photographers to see how well exhibit-goers could determine which pictures were made by male photographers and which by female photographers. People either ignored my proposal or were hostile to it (and me!), and as far as I know, even to this day no one has ever tried the experiment.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 21, 2015 at 7:26 AM

  6. Nice shots. Actually just reading your last comment I must say that is a good idea. Women and men do have unique views on photography. Maybe you can start up a challenge online.

    Raewyn's Photos

    July 21, 2015 at 1:52 PM

  7. […] a bit of versifying on my other blog recently I used the uncommon and now only literary English verb lave, which Spanish speakers will easily […]

  8. Your photographs of Little Manly Beach on different days seem to this viewer as if they are taken in two wholly different places. What a difference a day makes, indeed!

    Susan Scheid

    July 25, 2015 at 6:33 PM

    • The two photo sessions at Little Manly Beach were probably about 14 hours apart, but as you say, that made quite a difference because the sun was in opposite parts of the sky.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 25, 2015 at 9:37 PM


Leave a Reply

