Portraits of Wildflowers

Perspectives on Nature Photography

New Zealand: Contrasting rock patterns from Little Manly Beach

with 34 comments

Colorful Orange Rocks at Little Manly Beach 8600

Here are two patterns with different color schemes and configurations from Little Manly Beach on the morning of February 27th. The first is swirly, while line-like elements call for attention in the second one.

Rock Patterns at Little Manly Beach 8480

© 2015 Steven Schwartzman

Written by Steve Schwartzman

July 19, 2015 at 5:17 AM

34 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Terrific abstracts both. I love what the beaches have to offer here, but seldom seem to be able to get to them. I return tomorrow without having had a chance to get to a single one, but did get into the bush a bit. Next time for sure!

    krikitarts

    July 19, 2015 at 5:26 AM

    • Thanks, Gary. From your many visits to New Zealand, you know what you’re talking about when you refer to “what the beaches have to offer here,” though I’m sorry you seldom seem able to get to them. As you resolved: “Next time for sure!” In the meantime, I know you’ve enjoyed visiting with the New Zealand branch of your family there, and the bush was a bit of a bonus.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 19, 2015 at 7:35 AM

  2. The top pic certainly has an ‘aerial view about it…looking at a river winding its way ’round a hill of some kind…nicely seen, steven!~

    jmnowak

    July 19, 2015 at 5:32 AM

    • For some reason I’d been imagining that first formation as vertical, but the scattered sand on it supports your “aerial view” being the true orientation (even if my eyes were less than five feet up in the “aer”). Parts of the sand also bring out the “river” that you mentioned. What I take to have been flow lines of lava do a good job of mimicking the contour lines on a topographic map.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 19, 2015 at 7:44 AM

  3. Little Manly Beach is a treasure trove.

    Gallivanta

    July 19, 2015 at 6:05 AM

    • It sure was for me, and well worth my back-to-back visits. If you should ever find yourself in Auckland with a little time to spare, perhaps you can take a side trip there.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 19, 2015 at 7:47 AM

  4. For whatever reason, WordPress stopped loading the “like” button midway, so I will be missing in action on some I particularly wanted to flag–which is just about every one since I visited last time. These photographs from your NZ trip, in particular, are tremendous. I loved that coreopsis floating along in a bath of bubbles, too.

    Susan Scheid

    July 19, 2015 at 7:40 AM

    • Oh, that mischievous, fractious, recalcitrant WordPress. In any case, I’m glad the posts themselves showed up okay for you and that you enjoyed them. New Zealand was a wonderland, all right, and I finished up with a (visual) bang. I’ll add, as I sit here itching from a photo session on the prairie a few days ago, that one fringe benefit of New Zealand is that it doesn’t have chiggers. On the other hand, Texas wins out when it comes to wildflowers.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 19, 2015 at 8:40 AM

  5. Terrific abstracts – I’d have these on my wall. Love the texture and the colours 🙂

    Heyjude

    July 19, 2015 at 8:54 AM

  6. I’ve been away for a while and it is a treat to catch up with your pictures, Steve. I agree with your thoughts about putting together an exhibition of these abstractions. I am sure it would be popular. They are very visually appealing!

    Jane

    July 19, 2015 at 9:25 AM

    • Welcome back, Jane. I’m glad you’re doing better.

      The realist in me says that abstractions like these are often an acquired taste, but to those who have acquired that taste I’ll say “Bon appétit!”

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 19, 2015 at 9:51 AM

  7. Nice abstracts.

    Raewyn's Photos

    July 19, 2015 at 2:45 PM

  8. Both are gorgeous –

    photoleaper

    July 19, 2015 at 3:07 PM

  9. Once again, these are really beautiful images of these natural formations. I like the contrast in these two – great choices for this post!

    Birder's Journey

    July 19, 2015 at 5:06 PM

    • I’m pleased that you like this contrast, Carol. The next two posts will also feature juxtaposed pairs from the same beach.

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 19, 2015 at 10:16 PM

  10. Each of these is like a little world all its own; there’s so much to see, especially when they’re enlarged. They’re quite amazing, really. Neither of them looks “like” anything else. They just are what they are — and that’s more than good enough!

    shoreacres

    July 19, 2015 at 5:44 PM

  11. More nice abstracts, Steve. Just the sort of thing I’ll be looking for at Acadia this fall.

    Steve Gingold

    July 19, 2015 at 6:32 PM

    • Ah, yes, I can imagine you in photographer’s heaven along the coast at Acadia (a place I’ve never been).

      Steve Schwartzman

      July 19, 2015 at 10:21 PM

  12. What wonderful textures and tones!


Leave a Reply

